We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Galaxy

Save Saved
You added NH Galaxy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Galaxy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Distelkade 21 | 1031 XP, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #95 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    112
    33
    12
    11
See reviews for
21
97
7
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I chose this hotel mainly for the free parking but the location turned out to be perfect for us.
It was easy to drive to from the airport and the shuttle bus was excellent for getting in to the city and ran well into the evening.
The room was great with all you might need. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly.
What more could you want for a few days in Amsterdam!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Eastern, the time when the first flood of tourists boom the city. We booked the hotel thru Ebookers. While arriving the hotel from airport we choose a taxi to get in quickly. Beware of the taxi's if you're on low budget. They're quite expensive to drive by.

The staff @ Galaxy was smiley and helpfull. We got answer to every question even the silly ones. The room was Superior but it actually is not that superior. Ordinary room with windows, quite firm bed. Thought we had a smoking room so maybe that did the difference.

Room service worked quite nicely thru our 4days visit. They forgot things while ordering but we got that cleared quite well. Just be exact what you want while ordering. And if you wonder how the rooms are cleaned; just take the "im sleeping" patch outta the doors handle and they clean it super fast. We rolled the roomservice trays allways outside the door and the garbage and stuff did vanish in no time. That makes if you want to "sleep" all vacation and not to be disturbed.

Everyone greeted us in every corner. The Cabin Crew people didn's bother us. The noices or the different arrival of planes crew never bothered us. The hotel is quite quiet.

Downstairs the bar is excellent and the food is superb! They got billiards too.

And i must admit you gotta love those green apples and the anti-oxidant theme. The greenpatch which they got few years ago didn't go in vain. Good job on health aspects!

Noord Amsterdam is really a good place to see. Just go in and wander those local pubs and market-places. Local people are good fellas. Theres a new pizzeria too real close to Galaxy and they sure offer you the best pizzas and service in whole Amsterdam. A must place to visit. And if you happen to get any hangoverish, drop in at the falal-kebab place also really close to Galaxy. They serve you good stuff.

The local noord Marketplace sells you stuff so cheap that when you plunder into main-Amsterdam with ridicilous prices you wonder how the tourists and the mainsquare pumps you out of your money.

Don't stay in middle of Amsterdam, go south.

The Galaxy Hotel shuttle is quick and nice to get along into the heart of Adam.

We loved the hotel, the staff and the people innit. We'll be back...

<3

Room Tip: Take superior, atleast if you want a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, Manager at NH Galaxy, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear MikeAndKeeky ,

Thank you for you extensive review and comments of the hotel. We will be sure to let our staff know about your experience.
We would love to see you again in NH Galaxy

Kind regards,

Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Chose this hotel simply for the price of parking. Parking a car in the main city centre of Amsterdam I understand is very expensive and after navigating my way around on foot I understand why. It's not very car friendly. Walking, cycling, boat and tram are the main ways of getting around. However this hotel met most of our needs. The rooms were large and clean, the hotel was easy to get to from out of town, the hotel offers a shuttle service to town every 15 minutes between 3pm and 10pm but outside those times on request. The trip in to town is about 15 minutes so it still makes it a convenient location. The wifi is a bit slow and you need a new log in every 24 hours. We stayed for 2 nights. The food here is very expensive. There are places around the hotel to purchase food (not a big selection) but there are also signs on the hotel grounds that say not to bring in outside food. (We managed to get around this). The customer service was average. Even though it is near a main road the noise level from our room (on the 5th floor) was not very high. Would recommend not getting a room on the ground floor as people walk past these to get to the lift and stairs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, Manager at NH Galaxy, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Mirah2,

thank you for your review. We are sorry you felt the food was too expensive in the hotel. Fortunately we do have a lot of different types of restaurants surrounding the hotel, amongstt them also different price ranges to provide our guests with alternatives. As for the signs indicating not to bring own food are only there for the restaurant outlets. Of course you are more than welcome to bring food to eat in your room. Therefore we even have an empty minibar to keep it fresh. We hope to see you again in an NH sometime.

Kind regards,
NH Galaxy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Clean, wide comfortable room. Fridge and kettle included. Car park. Internet.TV
Receptionist very kind as well as room service
American breakfast delicious included coffee , tea, yogurt, toast, different juices, fresh fruits. also English breakfast.
Transportation to town centre free every thirty minutes that take fifteen minutes by minibus , van or taxi.
So we wish back again.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, Manager at NH Galaxy, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Nora,

thank you for your kind review. We would love to welcome you back in NH Galaxy.
Kind regards,

NH Galaxy team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Located in rough and ready north Amsterdam with homeless and dangerous looking neighbours, this hotel is nevertheless fairly convenient for tourist Amsterdam. Major sites are a 15 minute taxi ride or a short ferry ride. The immediate location is very mixed and it is advisable not to wander on foot. The hotel itself is dominated by airline crews and they are the clear priority for the staff. You need to time transactions to avoid the gaggle of hosties. It would appear that once out of uniform, boozing is the priority. The hotel is quite dated and while clean, feels grubby. Rooms are adequate although the adjacent expressway is noisy. The gym is ok but again, dated. Breakfast at 15 euros is a typical money maker for the hotel and definitely offered with limited TLC. If you have a one night busy trip it would suffice but under no circumstances take a family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Galaxy, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear David A,

thank you for your review and sharing your experience in NH Galaxy. We are sorry it has not been the expience you had expected. We can tell from your review you have mentioned several factors which you felt were not up to par. Unfortunately not all of them are controlable by the hotel. The neighbourhood is a real mixture of cultures indeed with also many nationalities present, however we do not have a high crime rate in here and we have not experienced a lot of dangerous situations or encounters.
Within the hotel we do experience several guests with different wishes and needs. We try to cater to all. However I do understand we have not archieved this during your visit, which I regret sincerly.
The outside of the hotel is quite dated indeed, but we allways hope when you enter the inside you feel the renovation (done in 2010) has given us a surprisingly fresh look. Also the gym is only 4 years old, and the equipment is checked 2 x a year.

Let me know if you wish to hear more from me, or if I could offer you some of my time to talk with you about our hotel and service, since we value our guests comments very much and we need them to improve and review our service.

Kind regards.

Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Galaxy

Address: Distelkade 21 | 1031 XP, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Galaxy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Galaxy hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. Located in northern Amsterdam, The hotel encompasses a large parking lot with 150 spaces, and offers complimentary shuttle service to the city center day and evening. NH Galaxy hotel is just 15 minutes by car from popular tourist destinations such as Marken, Edam and Volendam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your NH Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Galaxy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.