We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large clean rooms, out of town hotel for less expensive parking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Noord

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Noord to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Noord
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Distelkade, 21 | Amsterdam North, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #76 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Large clean rooms, out of town hotel for less expensive parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Chose this hotel simply for the price of parking. Parking a car in the main city centre of Amsterdam I understand is very expensive and after navigating my way around on foot I understand why. It's not very car friendly. Walking, cycling, boat and tram are the main ways of getting around. However this hotel met most of our needs. The rooms were large and clean, the hotel was easy to get to from out of town, the hotel offers a shuttle service to town every 15 minutes between 3pm and 10pm but outside those times on request. The trip in to town is about 15 minutes so it still makes it a convenient location. The wifi is a bit slow and you need a new log in every 24 hours. We stayed for 2 nights. The food here is very expensive. There are places around the hotel to purchase food (not a big selection) but there are also signs on the hotel grounds that say not to bring in outside food. (We managed to get around this). The customer service was average. Even though it is near a main road the noise level from our room (on the 5th floor) was not very high. Would recommend not getting a room on the ground floor as people walk past these to get to the lift and stairs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Mirah2,

thank you for your review. We are sorry you felt the food was too expensive in the hotel. Fortunately we do have a lot of different types of restaurants surrounding the hotel, amongstt them also different price ranges to provide our guests with alternatives. As for the signs indicating not to bring own food are only there for the restaurant outlets. Of course you are more than welcome to bring food to eat in your room. Therefore we even have an empty minibar to keep it fresh. We hope to see you again in an NH sometime.

Kind regards,
NH Galaxy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    168
    52
    16
    14
See reviews for
40
178
12
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Clean, wide comfortable room. Fridge and kettle included. Car park. Internet.TV
Receptionist very kind as well as room service
American breakfast delicious included coffee , tea, yogurt, toast, different juices, fresh fruits. also English breakfast.
Transportation to town centre free every thirty minutes that take fifteen minutes by minibus , van or taxi.
So we wish back again.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Nora,

thank you for your kind review. We would love to welcome you back in NH Galaxy.
Kind regards,

NH Galaxy team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Located in rough and ready north Amsterdam with homeless and dangerous looking neighbours, this hotel is nevertheless fairly convenient for tourist Amsterdam. Major sites are a 15 minute taxi ride or a short ferry ride. The immediate location is very mixed and it is advisable not to wander on foot. The hotel itself is dominated by airline crews and they are the clear priority for the staff. You need to time transactions to avoid the gaggle of hosties. It would appear that once out of uniform, boozing is the priority. The hotel is quite dated and while clean, feels grubby. Rooms are adequate although the adjacent expressway is noisy. The gym is ok but again, dated. Breakfast at 15 euros is a typical money maker for the hotel and definitely offered with limited TLC. If you have a one night busy trip it would suffice but under no circumstances take a family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear David A,

thank you for your review and sharing your experience in NH Galaxy. We are sorry it has not been the expience you had expected. We can tell from your review you have mentioned several factors which you felt were not up to par. Unfortunately not all of them are controlable by the hotel. The neighbourhood is a real mixture of cultures indeed with also many nationalities present, however we do not have a high crime rate in here and we have not experienced a lot of dangerous situations or encounters.
Within the hotel we do experience several guests with different wishes and needs. We try to cater to all. However I do understand we have not archieved this during your visit, which I regret sincerly.
The outside of the hotel is quite dated indeed, but we allways hope when you enter the inside you feel the renovation (done in 2010) has given us a surprisingly fresh look. Also the gym is only 4 years old, and the equipment is checked 2 x a year.

Let me know if you wish to hear more from me, or if I could offer you some of my time to talk with you about our hotel and service, since we value our guests comments very much and we need them to improve and review our service.

Kind regards.

Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. We deliberately chose a hotel out of town for price and for convenience. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The bar was cosy. The free apples were a bonus.

The free bus to the city was very useful but actually the walk to the free Ij ferry only took 15 minutes.

Would definitely recommend to anyone who doesn't need a nursemaid to look after them!

We especially liked the proximity to the canal which we ran along in both mornings.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Located in a renovated old hospital in a scary neighborhood. One feels uncomfortable walking to local establishments and resturants ( what few there are) especially after dark.
Service not especially friendly.
Rooms not especially clean.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heule, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel staff was very kind and helpfull. The hotel was situated in a quiet area and a shuttle brought us for free to the center of the city.
Breakfast was OK. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.




  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Noord

Address: Distelkade, 21 | Amsterdam North, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Noord 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Amsterdam Noord hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Amsterdam Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Noord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.