We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Noord

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Noord to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Noord
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Distelkade 21, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #94 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Clean, wide comfortable room. Fridge and kettle included. Car park. Internet.TV
Receptionist very kind as well as room service
American breakfast delicious included coffee , tea, yogurt, toast, different juices, fresh fruits. also English breakfast.
Transportation to town centre free every thirty minutes that take fifteen minutes by minibus , van or taxi.
So we wish back again.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Nora,

thank you for your kind review. We would love to welcome you back in NH Galaxy.
Kind regards,

NH Galaxy team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    184
    57
    17
    15
See reviews for
45
193
12
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Located in rough and ready north Amsterdam with homeless and dangerous looking neighbours, this hotel is nevertheless fairly convenient for tourist Amsterdam. Major sites are a 15 minute taxi ride or a short ferry ride. The immediate location is very mixed and it is advisable not to wander on foot. The hotel itself is dominated by airline crews and they are the clear priority for the staff. You need to time transactions to avoid the gaggle of hosties. It would appear that once out of uniform, boozing is the priority. The hotel is quite dated and while clean, feels grubby. Rooms are adequate although the adjacent expressway is noisy. The gym is ok but again, dated. Breakfast at 15 euros is a typical money maker for the hotel and definitely offered with limited TLC. If you have a one night busy trip it would suffice but under no circumstances take a family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear David A,

thank you for your review and sharing your experience in NH Galaxy. We are sorry it has not been the expience you had expected. We can tell from your review you have mentioned several factors which you felt were not up to par. Unfortunately not all of them are controlable by the hotel. The neighbourhood is a real mixture of cultures indeed with also many nationalities present, however we do not have a high crime rate in here and we have not experienced a lot of dangerous situations or encounters.
Within the hotel we do experience several guests with different wishes and needs. We try to cater to all. However I do understand we have not archieved this during your visit, which I regret sincerly.
The outside of the hotel is quite dated indeed, but we allways hope when you enter the inside you feel the renovation (done in 2010) has given us a surprisingly fresh look. Also the gym is only 4 years old, and the equipment is checked 2 x a year.

Let me know if you wish to hear more from me, or if I could offer you some of my time to talk with you about our hotel and service, since we value our guests comments very much and we need them to improve and review our service.

Kind regards.

Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. We deliberately chose a hotel out of town for price and for convenience. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The bar was cosy. The free apples were a bonus.

The free bus to the city was very useful but actually the walk to the free Ij ferry only took 15 minutes.

Would definitely recommend to anyone who doesn't need a nursemaid to look after them!

We especially liked the proximity to the canal which we ran along in both mornings.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Located in a renovated old hospital in a scary neighborhood. One feels uncomfortable walking to local establishments and resturants ( what few there are) especially after dark.
Service not especially friendly.
Rooms not especially clean.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heule, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel staff was very kind and helpfull. The hotel was situated in a quiet area and a shuttle brought us for free to the center of the city.
Breakfast was OK. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.




  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Bar closes before 23.00, so ABSOLUTELY NO ATMOSPHERE.
This hotel is made for airlines, and should only be used by the airlines. They have top priority, but normal travelers like me do not get any service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#217 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#213 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Amsterdam
#215 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
#130 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Noord

Address: Distelkade 21, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Noord 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Amsterdam Noord hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. Located in northern Amsterdam, The hotel encompasses a large parking lot with 150 spaces, and offers complimentary shuttle service to the city center day and evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, NHHotels, Odigeo, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your NH Amsterdam Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Noord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.