We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe bet for drunken US cabin crew - all others beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of NH Galaxy

Save Saved
You added NH Galaxy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Galaxy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Distelkade, 21 | Amsterdam North, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #100 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Safe bet for drunken US cabin crew - all others beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Located in rough and ready north Amsterdam with homeless and dangerous looking neighbours, this hotel is nevertheless fairly convenient for tourist Amsterdam. Major sites are a 15 minute taxi ride or a short ferry ride. The immediate location is very mixed and it is advisable not to wander on foot. The hotel itself is dominated by airline crews and they are the clear priority for the staff. You need to time transactions to avoid the gaggle of hosties. It would appear that once out of uniform, boozing is the priority. The hotel is quite dated and while clean, feels grubby. Rooms are adequate although the adjacent expressway is noisy. The gym is ok but again, dated. Breakfast at 15 euros is a typical money maker for the hotel and definitely offered with limited TLC. If you have a one night busy trip it would suffice but under no circumstances take a family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Galaxy, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear David A,

thank you for your review and sharing your experience in NH Galaxy. We are sorry it has not been the expience you had expected. We can tell from your review you have mentioned several factors which you felt were not up to par. Unfortunately not all of them are controlable by the hotel. The neighbourhood is a real mixture of cultures indeed with also many nationalities present, however we do not have a high crime rate in here and we have not experienced a lot of dangerous situations or encounters.
Within the hotel we do experience several guests with different wishes and needs. We try to cater to all. However I do understand we have not archieved this during your visit, which I regret sincerly.
The outside of the hotel is quite dated indeed, but we allways hope when you enter the inside you feel the renovation (done in 2010) has given us a surprisingly fresh look. Also the gym is only 4 years old, and the equipment is checked 2 x a year.

Let me know if you wish to hear more from me, or if I could offer you some of my time to talk with you about our hotel and service, since we value our guests comments very much and we need them to improve and review our service.

Kind regards.

Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    115
    34
    12
    12
See reviews for
21
99
7
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. We deliberately chose a hotel out of town for price and for convenience. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The bar was cosy. The free apples were a bonus.

The free bus to the city was very useful but actually the walk to the free Ij ferry only took 15 minutes.

Would definitely recommend to anyone who doesn't need a nursemaid to look after them!

We especially liked the proximity to the canal which we ran along in both mornings.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Located in a renovated old hospital in a scary neighborhood. One feels uncomfortable walking to local establishments and resturants ( what few there are) especially after dark.
Service not especially friendly.
Rooms not especially clean.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heule, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel staff was very kind and helpfull. The hotel was situated in a quiet area and a shuttle brought us for free to the center of the city.
Breakfast was OK. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.




  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Bar closes before 23.00, so ABSOLUTELY NO ATMOSPHERE.
This hotel is made for airlines, and should only be used by the airlines. They have top priority, but normal travelers like me do not get any service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just got back from a stay at this lovely hotel. Arrived to a really friendly welcome and free car parking right outside the door which is hard to find in Amsterdam. Hotel staff on reception were really helpful and offered for us to upgrade to a bigger and better room for €10 a night and was really worth it as bed was huge! Room was modern looking and has all we need plus more in it. Bbc 1 and 2 on tv and a lot of know sky channels in English with Dutch subtitles. StAyed in first night and found a lovely little pizza and steal place across the road which does great cheap food! Amazing sleep done and the best breakfast ever in the morning we then went Into city on free shuttle. Runs every 15 to 20 mins depending on traffic and was great perk! I would really recommend this hotel as u can have the city life but still get out when u want to as well! Thanks for lovely stay :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Galaxy, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel and our neighbour restaurant. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff and the entrepeneur of the restaurant.

Hope to see you again in an NH Hotel!

Kind regards,

Dagmar Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Galaxy

Address: Distelkade, 21 | Amsterdam North, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Galaxy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Galaxy hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your NH Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Galaxy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.