We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary” 1 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Noord

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Noord to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Noord
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Distelkade, 21 | Amsterdam North, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #103 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Scary”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Located in a renovated old hospital in a scary neighborhood. One feels uncomfortable walking to local establishments and resturants ( what few there are) especially after dark.
Service not especially friendly.
Rooms not especially clean.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    120
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
22
106
8
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heule, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel staff was very kind and helpfull. The hotel was situated in a quiet area and a shuttle brought us for free to the center of the city.
Breakfast was OK. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.




  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Bar closes before 23.00, so ABSOLUTELY NO ATMOSPHERE.
This hotel is made for airlines, and should only be used by the airlines. They have top priority, but normal travelers like me do not get any service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just got back from a stay at this lovely hotel. Arrived to a really friendly welcome and free car parking right outside the door which is hard to find in Amsterdam. Hotel staff on reception were really helpful and offered for us to upgrade to a bigger and better room for €10 a night and was really worth it as bed was huge! Room was modern looking and has all we need plus more in it. Bbc 1 and 2 on tv and a lot of know sky channels in English with Dutch subtitles. StAyed in first night and found a lovely little pizza and steal place across the road which does great cheap food! Amazing sleep done and the best breakfast ever in the morning we then went Into city on free shuttle. Runs every 15 to 20 mins depending on traffic and was great perk! I would really recommend this hotel as u can have the city life but still get out when u want to as well! Thanks for lovely stay :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel and our neighbour restaurant. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff and the entrepeneur of the restaurant.

Hope to see you again in an NH Hotel!

Kind regards,

Dagmar Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Combining the quiet of a residential area with quick and easy access to the heart of the city, the location is great for those who already know Amsterdam fairly well and prefer to be able to choose when they want to be in the thick of it and when they don't. Those seeking constant excitement just outside their hotel front door, or glitzy interior design and decoration, should choose a different hotel. If you do go, don't just jump in the excellent shuttle every time you want to go out. There are some intriguing, affordable neighborhood restaurants in the area that cater to locals. And if, like me, you love film, there's no better location to be within easy walking distance of the excellent EYE Film Institute.

Room Tip: Rooms with numbers ending in 44 are the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear mr. XX,

thank you for your kind words on NH Galaxy, indeed the EYE institute is really worth a visit. I really look forward to your next visit to our hotel, and I really hope to talk to you again then.

Kind regards,

Dagmar Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

It was really nice stay there! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Staff was very friendly, the room was really fresh and clean(there is a 150 euro penalty if you smoke inside the room) which means you can be sure its fresh and smell free. I have to mention the free shuttle to city center which is running every 15 min. up to late night(last one 24:15) TV with few English channels(DVD player also available) you can get your breakfast delivered to your room and set the time of delivery(food variety is quite big) Now once you check out(check out by 12) you can still leave your car parked over there and use the free shuttle for the whole day which is great.
Overall a really nice stay, friendly, professional, well good!
Peter

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Peter,

thank you for your nice review about our hotel and staff. I will be happy to pass on your thanks to the staff.
We hope to see you again in an NH Hotel!

Kind regards.

Dagmar Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I booked 5 non smoking rooms which were all on the first floor. As soon as the elevator doors opened there was a thick stench of smoke and was equally bad in our rooms. My eyes were watering from the smoke and all the towels in the bathroom equally smelt.

In terms of the bathroom it was nice and modern but wasn't clean as there was dark hair found in the bath which i knew wasn't mine as i'm blonde.

Hotel staff were not particularly friendly and all in all i was relieved to be only staying one night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Noord

Address: Distelkade, 21 | Amsterdam North, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Noord 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Amsterdam Noord hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, NHHotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Noord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.