We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Noord

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Noord to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Noord
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Distelkade, 21 | Amsterdam North, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #99 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our room was very big and cosy. There were the kettle and a choice of tea and coffe so we had our breakfast in room. The king size bed was really comfortable and there were also a fridge.
One night coming back to the hotel after all day out, we find that the sink in was linking water but, even if it was midnight, the security come to fix it. They were very kind and gentle.
The hotel is not in the city center but the distance is not a problem. The shuttle bus is very efficient and it brings you to the central station in few mitutes. In alternative there is the free ferry service at 15 minutes walk from the hotel but i recommend to rent a bicycle in order to reach all the corners of the city like a real Amsterdammer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear PearLady0,

thank you for your positive review and comments about our staff. We value the opinion of our guests and I will pass your comments to the team members involved.

We look forward to see you again in NH Galaxy or in any other hotel of the NH Hotel Group.
Kind regards,
Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    145
    44
    15
    13
See reviews for
33
140
10
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel was very comfortable, clean and, nice! My only problem was the shuttle. It was too small to accommodate everyone and many times we weren't able to fit so had to wait 30mins for another one!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

NH Galaxy is ideal if you go to Amsterdam by car. The Hotel has a free car park on site!
Rooms and Services are excellent, staff very friendly. Breakfast was good but could offer more choices.
As mentioned by many others there is a free shuttle Service to the NH Barbizon Hotel. But we experienced the shuttle doesn´t run that regurarely and you may have to wait some time, especially when going back to the Hotel in the evening. If you don´t mind walking 10-15 minutes you can also take the free ferry boat which crosses the river Ij right behind Centraal Station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear vrtichie,

thank you kindly for your positive comments on your stay in NH Galaxy. As we value the feedback from our customers, we appreciate you sharing your thoughts.
We wil have taken notice of your comments about the Shuttle with the waiting time going back to the hotel. It is possible to use your keycard to enter the waiting room situated at the other hotel and there is a phone to contact our front desk directly to ask for the estimated arrival time of the shuttle.

Again we thank you for your comments and hope to see you again in NH Galaxy or another hotel of the NH Hotels group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The shuttle service and the rooms and staff were very good and friendly. Had a wonderful stay at this hotel. I stayed there on business and the hotel is at an ok location from the center. the saving grace is the shuttle service.
Breakfast is also good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

In the face of it, this hotel is pretty basic, and not in a great location just a little bit outside of the city centre. But the rooms are clean and spacious and the shuttle bus dropping to and from central mean the location isn't an issue. The service is fantastic. It is half the price of some centrally located hotels, and with the free shuttle bus, only a ten minute drive away.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is not far from Downtown Amsterdam and offers free shuttle service to the Airport & Downtown. The internet is free for the first 100mb per day. There is a premium internet service for extra money. The rooms are nice and clean but the bathroom is very small. The light switch for the bathroom is outside the bathroom which kinda odd.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Noord

Address: Distelkade, 21 | Amsterdam North, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Noord 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Amsterdam Noord hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Amsterdam Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Noord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.