We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Galaxy

Save Saved
You added NH Galaxy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Galaxy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Distelkade 21 | 1031 XP, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #95 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    112
    33
    12
    11
See reviews for
21
97
7
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked this room through last minute.com, it was a mystery hotel at a great rate. We stayed here for 2 nights as my husband was running the marathon. On arrival the female receptionist was very grumpy and totally disinterested in us as guests. She did not crack a smile through all of check in, and it was obvious that she was more interested in the american flight crew that had just arrived behind us. The room itself was really nice, the bed was massive and the room had great facilities including a hairdryer and ironing board with iron, safe and fridge. On the next day I asked another female receptionist what the weather was going to be like, just incase I needed to take my coat. The look she gave me was one of disdain, it seemed I was inconveniencing her by even talking to her! We checked out early on the third day and a really friendly gentleman dealt with us, what a breath of fresh air he was! He was courteous and polite, even though it was only 6.30am! Don't stay here if you are not flight crew and you appreciate good manners!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in October. Very clean and comfortable room which contained the biggest bed I've ever seen. The bathroom was clean and modern with a powerful shower and endless hot water. Breakfast was a buffet, plenty of choice but a bit expensive at €15 although eating loads saved on lunch. Although the hotel is about four miles from the centre of Amsterdam the free shuttle bus service means that this isn't a problem. Overall I would recommend the NH Galaxy, a good place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I really liked this hotel. Very nice service and reception eager to assist. Airline crews stay here so feel safe. The rooms were nice and clean, beds comfy. Hot pot with tea and coffee. Nice toiletries. There is a place off lobby that makes sandwiches in the morning and they are very good and inexpensive. I went downstairs to order a pizza in the bar. The staff was very helpful and nice and pizza was very good. Overall it's a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just had four days at this hotel. At first everything seemed good. Then the ugly head of the American cabin crew appeared. This hotel is purely run for resting cabin crew before their return flights. Although I never witnessed a lot of resting taking place. We deliberately stayed away from the City hotels because of the partying hoardes, and ended up in the middle of it. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus on a pretty regular basis to Central Station and back and is an added bonus. However on 2 occasions while waiting for the return to the Hotel my wife and I were split up as the drunken cabin crew had to get back to try and get some sleep before their return flights. The reception staff at the hotel are very friendly if you have an American accent and wear a uniform.If not forget it and go to the back of the queue. The bar is ok but the price of drinks is high. They have a happy hour every day from around 5pm to 9pm where drinks are half price, if you can get to the bar and get the attention of the staff. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with all the amenities you would expect. The breakfast however is a complete joke and for 15 euros isn't worth it. You can catch the shuttle bus into the city and have 2 big breakfasts for less than that. Altogether it was an eyeopener as to what cabin crew get up too on downtime and will never have faith in airline staff again. We will not be staying at this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This has to be one of the all time worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Went with a girlfriend in June and had a great time everywhere except this hotel. Rude staff, shabby and in need of a good clean. Do yourself a favour don't stay here!

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here it's a waste of your hard earned money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Galaxy

Address: Distelkade 21 | 1031 XP, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Galaxy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Galaxy hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. Located in northern Amsterdam, The hotel encompasses a large parking lot with 150 spaces, and offers complimentary shuttle service to the city center day and evening. NH Galaxy hotel is just 15 minutes by car from popular tourist destinations such as Marken, Edam and Volendam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your NH Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Galaxy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.