We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity it wasn't a longer stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Noord

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Noord to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Noord
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Distelkade, 21 | Amsterdam North, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #101 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Retford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pity it wasn't a longer stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our trip to Amsterdam for a wedding could have been a problem with parking in the centre being at a premium. Problem solved by a very helpful staff who let us have our room early so we could change (after a rough ferry crossing), then the free parking is a huge bonus, together with the free shuttle bus to take you either to the city or to the ferry across to Central Station. Our room was huge and very thoughtfully planned with all that a weary traveller would need (apart from an extra couple of pillows for the super-kingsize bed). The area is quiet with reasonably easy access. We didn't use the hotels catering facilities as we were at the wedding, but on the rest of the facilities and its position I would stay there again and happily recommend it .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    121
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
22
107
8
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel was a very high standard with fridge in room, and the room was large, helpful staff and shuttle service to amsterdam town centre every 15min.
If driving it costs about 50 euro per day to park in the city.
This hotel saved me over 120 euro for our stay as the parking was free and the shuttle took us in and out of the city and the transfer time was less that 10min.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor and looked towards Amsterdam and was quiet with only police sirens mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed here and was very impressed and don't be put off by the location, the free shuttle is excellent.

5 reasons to stay here

(1) Shuttle service - this runs every 15mins from 3pm-23.45. If you want it before then (like we did and many others did) you just ask at reception and he comes on request from 9am-3pm. Drops you off at the NH Barbizan which is right next to central station and bang in the centre. We also got the bus on our day of arrival.

(2) Price - for an expensive city, prices here are very reasonable

(3) Rooms - rooms are large and clean and come with fridges, safes and kettles in your room. Ensuite bathrooms are also large and comfortable

(4) Staff - staff are very friendly and helpful

(5) Location - I know this might sound silly when you look on the map, but if you catch the shuttle it takes 5-10mins and then you are bang in the centre next to centraal station.

All in all a fantastic stay

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Extrememly friendly and helpful staff -managed to let us have a room a few hours earlier so i could change for a wedding. Would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Hotel is not much to look at from the outside, but the inside is modern and clean. Quiet residential area with several restaurants within easy walking distance. Food and beverages are overpriced in the hotel. There is a grocery store across the street. Lousy small, high pillows. Free shuttle bus to the tourist area of Amsterdam every 15 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Booked this hotel for 2 nights over 18-20th May 2012.

The hotel is very ordinary from the outside, used extensively by Delta Air Lines crew, however inside is very modern and clean.

The hotel is 'over the water' from Centraal Station, but is easily accessible via the free ferry from the rear of Centraal Station, which lands at Buiksloterwg and is a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. It was actually good to be able to escape the excitement and madness of central Amsterdam, but still be very close.

We had room 642 which was a very large room with a large, comfortable super king size bed and a lovely, very modern bathroom.

The staff were exceptional. I asked them to arrange some flowers and some wine in advance of our arrival and this was arranged to perfection, and at a reasonable price of Euro 55 all in. The staff are always courteous and very helpful when making recommendations as to where to visit and what to do.

There is a free shuttle bus to their sister NH Hotel nr Centraal station, which runs every 15-20 minutes, if you do not fancy the walk to the ferry.

All in all, a very comfortable hotel, with great staff in a user friendly location. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel six times. There doesn't seem to be a way to figure out the larger rooms. I say this because having stayed so many times my room size has varied almost every time. Same contemporary furnishings. Two very small pillows. You can get more if you call housekeeping. Sometimes there's an extra in the closet. Two twin beds pushed together to make one large one. If you are from U.S. you can ask for a converter box. It's a very large box that can only be plugged in, in the bedroom. Which means this time I have no access to a mirror for curling my hair. Flat screen T. V., hair dryer, fridge, coffee maker,iron and board. Large deep tub. Some rooms are older which makes the tub old but still large. Shuttle bus to take you downtown. Sandwiches sold in the lobby. Bar and restaurant. Okay service. I go elsewhere. Pizza across the street at E cafe very good. ATM across the property. Two grocery stores within ten minute walk, Albert hein and Durks. Ten minute walk to ferry that you can also take to downtown. Front desk can be detached and cold most of the time. But they get the job done. Everyone speaks english that I've talked to at hotel. From front desk to housekeeping.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Noord

Address: Distelkade, 21 | Amsterdam North, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Noord 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Amsterdam Noord hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and EasyToBook so you can book your NH Amsterdam Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Noord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.