We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome customer service, nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Galaxy

Save Saved
You added NH Galaxy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Galaxy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Distelkade 21 | 1031 XP, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #93 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome customer service, nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The N H Galaxy is a very nice hotel that is tucked away just a few miles from the downtown Amsterdam area. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They offer complimentary shuttle service into the city that drops off in front of the N H Barbazon. The drop off point is an excellent location to walk to various restaurants and all other activities that may be on your list of things to do such as tours. The rooms are very clean and very modern. They have a mini fridge in each room too. My family of four had a short stay here. We had two rooms with double beds each. The double beds are pushed together and appear a king bed, but the sheets are made up on each one as separate. It worked out fine. We would definitely stay here again! They gave a great room rate.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    115
    32
    14
    11
See reviews for
21
96
7
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is a great hotel for anyone who wants a good quality room for a decent price but doesn't mind staying a bit out of the city centre. The rooms are nicely decorated (recently refurbished) with good facilities (DVD player, safe, fridge). Hotel facilities are good (free bag drop, free wifi and use of the computers in the lounge) with friendly staff. There is a bar and restaurant on site, we didn't use these but they looked good from the outside (happy hour in the bar from 5 to 7pm).

The location is on the north side of the IJ river so you are a bit out of things but this made the stay all the better (it is located in a quiet residential area). I've stayed in the centre of Amsterdam many times before and the noise can sometimes get a bit tiresome. There is a free hotel shuttle to the centre but we didn't use this as the 34 and 35 bus stops pretty much outside the hotel and takes about 7 mins to get to Centraal Station.

Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

we stayed 3 nights. even if the hotel is not directly in the center the internal shuttle is very efficient and frequent. Tidy rooms. A very priceworthy solution!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed here 4 3 nites in nov. we were to stay in movenpick but thanks to easy2 book we arrived 2 find we had no reservation. found this hotel & werent we glad. fab place. we were celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary, & were upgraded to a suite with wonderful views. staff very friendly & we also got complimentary drinks sent 2 our room. The hotel isnt central but a courtesy bus leaves every 20 mins, drop of at central station. What more cud u want????? Would def stay here again and would recommend to others. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The recent remodel served this hotel very well. The decor and color scheme of the rooms are well thought out. I like the rooms in the tower My room was huge this time, however I have had smaller rooms before. Never get a smoking room (even if you smoke) they smell really bad. I like to go for a walk and catch the FREE water taxi to Central Station and wonder around Dam Square. It is nice after a busy day of sight seeing to come to a quiet part of town. The staff is ALWAYS very friendly and helpful. There are bikes you can rent from the hotel (however get your request in early on a nice day). I also like to go to the Nearby Albert Heine grocery store and stock up on great cheese. There are many ethnic choices for food near the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Just an FYI on this hotel.........I fly for a major US airline. This is mainly a crew hotel. If you're looking for something closer in or a more local feel, I would probably steer away from this one. There are several quaint cafes and shops nearby, but unless you've stayed there many times, you would think you were out in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: Adequate, comfortable
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Having followed the instructions as per the booking agency confirmation, we found a walk described as 5 minutes in fact took 15. After checking in, we decided to go for a drink and a meal. The restaurant was in fact a bar, crowded and noisy, so decided to get room service to deliver a meal, which was very well cooked and presented. We would not recommend this hotel to a mature couple

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Galaxy

Address: Distelkade 21 | 1031 XP, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Galaxy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Galaxy hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. Located in northern Amsterdam, The hotel encompasses a large parking lot with 150 spaces, and offers complimentary shuttle service to the city center day and evening. NH Galaxy hotel is just 15 minutes by car from popular tourist destinations such as Marken, Edam and Volendam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, NHHotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Agoda and Otel so you can book your NH Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Galaxy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.