We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why the bad reviews?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hasekura

Hasekura
Amstelstraat 26-30, 1017DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
0031 20422 94 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,188 of 2,526 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $26 - $33
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Why the bad reviews?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a convenient restaurant, just over the road from where I say.

The "all you can eat" menu represents very good value for money. You get a card with all the menu items on, tick what you want and can come back for an additional 4 times - cannot say fairer than that, I've never got past 3.

The food is good (especially the tempura) and the big advantage is you do not pile up a huge bill like you can do in a sushi bar.

OK, the décor is not inspiring and not all of the waiters speak good English (why should they?, you are in a Japanese restaurant in the Netherlands) but there are nice touches like pebble in the loo (very restful!)

I think some of the reviews are harsh, I have no complaints

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Rip-off!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

1. Tap water is not allowed - and in most places it is a must
2. Tea is in teabags, and everyone knows that japanese tea must in a teapot! And after u drink it, they dont agree to give you hot water in the empty cup. Very greedy of them.
3. Waitress was totally unhelpful, with limited english and rude, she threw spoons on the table and had a face like she doesnt want to talk to us, also she couldnt explain the difference between sake - why is warm cheaper than cold one
4. They brought the food fast bcos we took a la carte, but the only good thing was sashimi (fresh and 6 pieces for 5 eur) and duck pancake. Salad had mayonaise in it which killed the taste.

Overall, the quality of the sashimi left a good impression on us, but seriously stop being so greedy about tap and hot water, it is 2013 and it's Europe!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“extremely lousy restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have been there yesterday, and it was TERRIBLE!
We got the All-you-can-eat menu. Later we found out that you could also order à la carte, but noone told us. Also they didn't explain how it exactly works and instructions were only in Dutch, but well, we finally got an explanation when we asked. Actually it doesn't really deserve the name All-you-can-eat, because you are only allowed to order 5 pieces of sushi per person and round, and you can order 5 rounds max. The first round arrived, it took a long time, but we got all we ordered (later we found out that this is everything but naturally in this restaurant). They gave us back our list to order the second round only after we waited 20 minutes and finally intervened. In the second round we got not even half of the items we ordered (actually 3 out of 10). We intervened again, what meant we had to rise from the table and walk to the waiters, because they never reacted on guests calling them. After getting the other items we again had to go and get the list back to order again. From the third round we got 7 items. For the last three we asked twice but nothing happened. Then a miracle happened, they BROUGHT us the list without us asking for it. We ordered the fourth round, still not having got the missing items of the third. We waited, and waited, and waited. Meanwhile the waiter explained that we won't be able to order the fifth round because they were closing the kitchen at 11 pm and there was no more rice. We kept waiting for the fourth round that she promised we would still get. After 45 minutes and most of the other guests having left already (mostly in a rage) we told them we were leaving and not willing to pay the full price for having got but half of the food. They were very rude and after dicussing for a long time proposed a 10% discount. This is ridiculous! We have been there four hours, mostly just waiting and asking for our food! Our nerves were on the edge! They said we could sit down again and eat the rest, and that there were no time limit (suddenly the kitchen was not closed anymore and there was rice...). We accepted to get the entire fourth round and the rest of the third in 5 minutes and then accept the 10% discount for not getting the fifth anymore. Of course we again waited again almost 15 minutes, but then got everything but 1 item. When we left after more than 4 hours at 11.45 pm we were hungry and annoyed. We will certainly never ever go there again!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hossegor
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This restaurant is not very well located but the decoration is quite nice and fancy.

Service is nice and food is fresh and excellent.

25 euros all you can eat .

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value for good food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

1. I ordered the “all you can eat deal” for 22 Euro
2. The service was good (out of 3 waiters 2 were very friendly), they helped me to select the food and provided helpful recommendations
3. The food is good, for sure you may find fancier places, but overall I enjoyed most of the dishes. The food was fresh and nicely served
4. You are allowed to spend about 2.5 hours in the restaurant and order new rounds of food upon finishing what you have already ordered.
5. The speed of delivering the food wasn’t fast (but overall reasonable)
6. I enjoyed the food and the service, I found that the variety of different dishes was good and the option to taste several types of dishes on the same opportunity was nice
7. After finishing the soft drink which I ordered I asked for tap water but I was told that this isn’t possible…
8. The place was clean (include the toilets) and I found that the “office chairs” were ok
9. The value was good and I assume that I will return to this restaurant

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hasekura also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hasekura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hasekura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.