We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tempura

Tempura
Plantage Kerklaan 26, Amsterdam 1018 , The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1,145 of 2,147 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
pretoria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

You can't get a more local japanese restaurant. Great vegetable tempura, fish a bit too cold. Most friendly waitresses.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    6
    6
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I think this is the best meal I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely restaurant. Traditional Japanese food - beware you have to eat with chopsticks, cutlery is not an option! Staff very friendly and welcoming and food is delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Definitely not”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Maybe I'm spoiled because my home city of Toronto has such excellent Japanese restaurants. All the same, I found Tempura to be a miserable experience. The owner was gruff to the point of rudeness and the food was ridiculously overpriced. I was made to feel unwelcome and vowed never to return. I was disappointed because it's the only Japanese restaurant that I know of in the Plantage district of Amsterdam. But the service was so terrible that I'll find something else next time. I would definitely suggest avoiding Tempura.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tempura, sushi galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Very popular neighborhoud Japanese style brasserie with very decent Tempura, Sushi

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brasil
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The best japanese food I ate in a very long time. The squid and coqui St.Jacques sashimi were beyond description. If you like japanese food, this is the place to be. The staff don't speak very good english, and - at least for me - that's also a part of its charm.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tempura also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tempura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tempura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.