We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place continues to excel ..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Wong

Uncle Wong
albert cuypstraat 66-70 | albert cuypstraat 66-70, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,316 of 2,288 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: cheap and delicious
Restaurant details
Description: cheap and delicious
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“this place continues to excel ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Since our last review, we've been back a number of times, always drawn by the prospect of that 'perfect' steamed deep-sea bass ... and they 'never' disappoint, the chef makes it 'perfectly' every time ..
this time, we had a party of 10 , which gave a chance to really 'test' the kitchen in a number of areas...
Starters- steamed oysters large, succulent, well-prepared .. steamed scallops, less 'brilliant' but still good ... sesame prawn toasts, no complaints.
Mains - steamed seabass declared excellent unanimously, black pepper lambchops dubbed excellent, crispy chicken sweetsour 'very good', stuffed aubergines 'very good'.. and they made us a 'special ' dish, snowpeas with scallops and prawns, found 'excellent' .
With housewines (good), coffees and some liqueurs, the princely sum of 33 euros per head..

an 'excellent' meal overall ..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    6
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good central chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Have been here a few times now, twice with our children. Menu choice is reasonable, portions are a good size, lovely and fresh good quality food. The place is clean bright and modern with very good friendly service. Very happy to recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“quality ingredients, nice place and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

we would certainly come back to this place. the waiter recommended very good value for money dishes, enough variety and fresh ingredients
nice sober place, clean and modern.
very good value for money

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Some of the best Chinese food we have ever tasted.

Reasonable value for money and the menu isn't huge, however, it is a really nice place to eat. The staff are very helpful and the quality of the food is absolutely first class. We liked it so much we went back and our son wanted a third visit! The soups are particulalry good,

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great service & nice surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We have been going here since it open a few years back! The food has always impressive,and the prices a lower then most other Chinese restaurant. I particularly suggest the duck and the sweet & sour chicken.

The chefs will also make any other Chinese food you want that you may not see on the menu- they're the real deal. The service is great- friendly, lots of smiles and quick.

That is not something you always see in the Netherlands. In a great area too- you can check out the Albert Cuyp Market and the Heineken brewery as well. Inside, you will be love the chic yet comfortable interior.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Wong also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Uncle Wong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Wong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.