We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern stylish with a good buzz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CAU

CAU
Damstraat 5 | 1012JL, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))
+31 20 623 9632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #253 of 2,537 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $83
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue, Grill, Argentinean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Argentine casual fine dining restaurant, specialising in steaks. The most extensive Argentine wine list in Amsterdam. With Private dining,Brunch and corporate facilities available. Beautiful, newly refurbished building, centrally located.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“modern stylish with a good buzz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This place was very busy but with only a short wait they found us a table. The staff were very attentive Drinks included cocktails as well as wine and beer. There is a definite buzz with mellow background music and plenty of chatter. It is a modern light and airy restaurant but the customers were of all ages. The food was really well cooked, I had Swordfish for starter which was extremely tasty and an 'Argentina style' steak sandwich which again was very tasty. I would eat here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    492
    150
    53
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“CAU is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Good meat restaurant. Location is great, good to visit with friends.
many drinks in the bar. Meat comes from Argentina. Pretty good!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

A great restaurant. Nice food. Friendly atmosphere with a huge menu choice. The steak is amazing. Also try the grilled sweet potato

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible service and bland food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try this place based on the good reviews and close proximity to our hotel, but was very disappointed. The service was atrocious---our waitress took our order and never again checked on us; we started flagging down the manager who picked up her slack, but rarely attentive. It took 40 minutes to get our dinner: 2 burgers and 2 side salads, and during that time half the restaurant was served their food and left. We asked for medium rare and got medium well burgers (which were tasteless and bland) and my side salad was barely dressed. An unfortunate way to spend our last meal in Amsterdam.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great steaks, good service, sides pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We needed somewhere to eat around 10pm, and wanted some good quality steaks! Following other reviews on TA we found Cau, very close to the main square in Amsterdam so we were a little cautious.

However we shouldn't have been. Service was efficient and friendly, the steak platter with 4 steaks was cooked excellent (rare as requested) and tasty. Could have done with more seasoning but I'm being picky there!

Sides of rocket & parmesan and fries were also good if a touch pricey.

Would be happy to go here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CAU also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to CAU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CAU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.