We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execellent Location & Helpful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Pieterjacobszoondwarsstraat 11, 1012 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Killarney, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Execellent Location & Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A friend and I stayed here on a recent city break and we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. it was very easy to find by following the directions emailed to us by the B&B. Its in a perfect location, right beside Dam Square and so central. We arrived very early in the morning, this wasnt a problem, the staff took our belongings and told us to come back in about an hour and the room would be ready. we were delighted, they then sent us on our way with a map and loads of different ideas and suggestions as to what we could do for the day. The accomodation itself is pretty basic, but perfect for us as it had a clean shower and clean beds for us to sleep in!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    15
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
14
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great location very near the Dam Square, and incredibly helpful staff. Free bike rental is a plus too.

However ... the first "studio" I had was very dark, noisy (next to the kitchen), a bit dirty (lots of marks on the walls) and looked like it had been kitted out by a cash-strapped student. The "kitchenette" had almost no facilities (e.g. no plates or pans).

The second room I had was much better, on the top floor, but still looked like a hostel - e.g it had a rubber band to hold the shower door shut, lots of drill holes in the walls etc.

Breakfast isn't included, despite it being called a B&B.

I hate to give a less than positive review considering how great the staff were. However, the truth is that you're getting a hostel-style room for €130. Very poor value. I recommend staying in a 3-star hotel instead of here.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room, away from the street and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place was awesome! Holger was really great and welcoming and mapping out fabulous places to bike to around the city. The free bike rental is what makes this place. It's really the best way to get around the city and can even take the free ferry to the outskirts! It's a great location right next to the red light district so it's great for tourists. A little noisy at night and I wouldn't really call it a "b&b" as there wasn't really breakfast but there's a pastry shop right across the street which is amazing. It was raining when we were there and the restaurant across the way with the heat lamps was great for people watching and warming up. Overall, great location and staff and take advantage of the bikes!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A HUGE thank you to the hotel for their help with cancelling my reservation when I had to return home due to illness. Their assistance and understanding was very much appreciated in what was a very trying situation for me.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Only stay here if you're looking for the very basics. We were very disappointed with this hotel.
Since it was a hot day, we wanted to sleep with the window open but had to keep it closed because our the outside air smelled like pot. This hotel is one street away from the red light district.
I'm not very picky about where I stay but my husband and I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, easy to find, warm and welcoming staff who go out of their way to help you.
Large room with seating area and kettle, access to a very big kitchen 24/7.
The style however was basic and quite tired. Reminded me of old style youth hostel in the UK. Certainly more than adequate if you just want somewhere to sleep but nothing mind than basic. Again, have to say how great the staff were!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

After having much tighter quarters for the first four days of our vacation, the chance to spread out in more spacious accommodations was a delight! Although we didn't use it because our stay was short, the kitchenette would make this a good location for a longer stay...and help avoid the pricier costs of restaurants in this prime location. We appreciated being so close to Dam Square (a block or so) and the Centraal Station (10 minutes walk). Amsterdam is full of people pulling luggage back and forth to the station, so don't worry about that! But be prepared for the steep stairs to your accommodations. You'll be glad that you "packed light". Holger was very accommodating and we'd happily stay there again.

Room Tip: As the hotel is on a side street (and alley, really) it is very quiet. The pastry shop across the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast

Address: Pieterjacobszoondwarsstraat 11, 1012 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.