We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execellent Location & Helpful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Pieterjacobszoondwarsstraat 11, 1012 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Execellent Location & Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A friend and I stayed here on a recent city break and we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. it was very easy to find by following the directions emailed to us by the B&B. Its in a perfect location, right beside Dam Square and so central. We arrived very early in the morning, this wasnt a problem, the staff took our belongings and told us to come back in about an hour and the room would be ready. we were delighted, they then sent us on our way with a map and loads of different ideas and suggestions as to what we could do for the day. The accomodation itself is pretty basic, but perfect for us as it had a clean shower and clean beds for us to sleep in!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janijanjans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great location very near the Dam Square, and incredibly helpful staff. Free bike rental is a plus too.

However ... the first "studio" I had was very dark, noisy (next to the kitchen), a bit dirty (lots of marks on the walls) and looked like it had been kitted out by a cash-strapped student. The "kitchenette" had almost no facilities (e.g. no plates or pans).

The second room I had was much better, on the top floor, but still looked like a hostel - e.g it had a rubber band to hold the shower door shut, lots of drill holes in the walls etc.

Breakfast isn't included, despite it being called a B&B.

I hate to give a less than positive review considering how great the staff were. However, the truth is that you're getting a hostel-style room for €130. Very poor value. I recommend staying in a 3-star hotel instead of here.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room, away from the street and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreykw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place was awesome! Holger was really great and welcoming and mapping out fabulous places to bike to around the city. The free bike rental is what makes this place. It's really the best way to get around the city and can even take the free ferry to the outskirts! It's a great location right next to the red light district so it's great for tourists. A little noisy at night and I wouldn't really call it a "b&b" as there wasn't really breakfast but there's a pastry shop right across the street which is amazing. It was raining when we were there and the restaurant across the way with the heat lamps was great for people watching and warming up. Overall, great location and staff and take advantage of the bikes!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSG2traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A HUGE thank you to the hotel for their help with cancelling my reservation when I had to return home due to illness. Their assistance and understanding was very much appreciated in what was a very trying situation for me.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann_Jeremy_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Only stay here if you're looking for the very basics. We were very disappointed with this hotel.
Since it was a hot day, we wanted to sleep with the window open but had to keep it closed because our the outside air smelled like pot. This hotel is one street away from the red light district.
I'm not very picky about where I stay but my husband and I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, easy to find, warm and welcoming staff who go out of their way to help you.
Large room with seating area and kettle, access to a very big kitchen 24/7.
The style however was basic and quite tired. Reminded me of old style youth hostel in the UK. Certainly more than adequate if you just want somewhere to sleep but nothing mind than basic. Again, have to say how great the staff were!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

After having much tighter quarters for the first four days of our vacation, the chance to spread out in more spacious accommodations was a delight! Although we didn't use it because our stay was short, the kitchenette would make this a good location for a longer stay...and help avoid the pricier costs of restaurants in this prime location. We appreciated being so close to Dam Square (a block or so) and the Centraal Station (10 minutes walk). Amsterdam is full of people pulling luggage back and forth to the station, so don't worry about that! But be prepared for the steep stairs to your accommodations. You'll be glad that you "packed light". Holger was very accommodating and we'd happily stay there again.

Room Tip: As the hotel is on a side street (and alley, really) it is very quiet. The pastry shop across the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowa_is_my_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#140 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,776 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,034 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,054 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast

Address: Pieterjacobszoondwarsstraat 11, 1012 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing