We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Pieterjacobszoondwarsstraat 11, 1012 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place was awesome! Holger was really great and welcoming and mapping out fabulous places to bike to around the city. The free bike rental is what makes this place. It's really the best way to get around the city and can even take the free ferry to the outskirts! It's a great location right next to the red light district so it's great for tourists. A little noisy at night and I wouldn't really call it a "b&b" as there wasn't really breakfast but there's a pastry shop right across the street which is amazing. It was raining when we were there and the restaurant across the way with the heat lamps was great for people watching and warming up. Overall, great location and staff and take advantage of the bikes!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    21
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
15
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A HUGE thank you to the hotel for their help with cancelling my reservation when I had to return home due to illness. Their assistance and understanding was very much appreciated in what was a very trying situation for me.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Only stay here if you're looking for the very basics. We were very disappointed with this hotel.
Since it was a hot day, we wanted to sleep with the window open but had to keep it closed because our the outside air smelled like pot. This hotel is one street away from the red light district.
I'm not very picky about where I stay but my husband and I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, easy to find, warm and welcoming staff who go out of their way to help you.
Large room with seating area and kettle, access to a very big kitchen 24/7.
The style however was basic and quite tired. Reminded me of old style youth hostel in the UK. Certainly more than adequate if you just want somewhere to sleep but nothing mind than basic. Again, have to say how great the staff were!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

After having much tighter quarters for the first four days of our vacation, the chance to spread out in more spacious accommodations was a delight! Although we didn't use it because our stay was short, the kitchenette would make this a good location for a longer stay...and help avoid the pricier costs of restaurants in this prime location. We appreciated being so close to Dam Square (a block or so) and the Centraal Station (10 minutes walk). Amsterdam is full of people pulling luggage back and forth to the station, so don't worry about that! But be prepared for the steep stairs to your accommodations. You'll be glad that you "packed light". Holger was very accommodating and we'd happily stay there again.

Room Tip: As the hotel is on a side street (and alley, really) it is very quiet. The pastry shop across the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I just spent the past week in/around Amsterdam and was fortunate find this spot - both because of the B&B and the Damstraat Rent-a-Bike Shop. The two businesses are associated and a stay at the B&B will get you a free bike to use while you're staying there. The folks running the place (Holger, Tomas and Cristina) are first-rate - very helpful, hip and super friendly. I got great tips on bike touring locations and spots to go to in Amsterdam. The B&B is easy to get to from the train stain - straight up Damraak to Dam Square. Dam Square and the surrounding neighborhood is busy, but fun. The B&B is off on a side street and is a lot quieter. (Note that I think B&B stands for Bed & Biking since I don't think there's real breakfast, but you should check on that to be sure). Biking around Amsterdam is really the best once you get the hang of it and it beats walking or trying to use cabs. If you're looking to get to museums, parks, restaurants, or pubs, with a bike the city is very accessible. I didn't use public transport so I don't know about.
Would recommend this place in a heart beat and hope to return in the near future with my family. (If you're looking for a typical full service hotel, this wouldn't fit the bill. The cancellation policy is clear from the outset. There was internet and yes, you will have to climb stairs....)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariefred, Sweden
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a nice B&B in the middle of the city, 15 mins walk to the central railway station, close to the canals, bars, restaurants and the red light district if you're in to that. Surroundings are very touristy so prices are rather high compared to other areas.
My room on the top floor was nice, quiet, had a fridge and a coffee machine, beds were ok (a bit too hard for my taste) and fast wifi :-)
Sort of like living in somebodys home.
No AC but that's not needed except during summer.
Narrow steep stairs - but that's what it's like in these old narrow tall houses, which I prefer compared to boring Intl hotel chains...

Room Tip: Ask for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast

Address: Pieterjacobszoondwarsstraat 11, 1012 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old City Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.