We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr Tongs

Mr Tongs
Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 119-121, 1017 PZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,105 of 2,324 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a lovely meal here. Quite expensive but found that about all the Chinese restaurants. We had the Wok deal and it was really lovely.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“confused waiter but the food was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I ate there twice during my stay in Amsterdam in June.
I felt urgent need for something hot, spicey and sweet and for crispy meat.
I saw sign with speical_ Crispy Duck with pancakes, and I took it.
It was great. They also have Chionese beer (not cold enough, though!), and Chinese brandy which was really good - it tasted like honey-brandy. Mead, that is.
Very strong and i Dranki it as digestive with coffee.

When I came in, nobody welcomed me, and I stood for a couple of minutes until the waiter showed me a table. He was cutely confused and distracted.

I noticed that I was the only guest who did not get complimentary rice chips.
Murphy's law again!

The waiter did not understand my inquiry of Chinese brandy, so his colleague, the waitress, came and she found that "Chinese mead" for me. Try this brandy!

I stopped by at the restaurant next day, before Patti Smith´s gig at Paradiso.
This time I received more attention.
The waiters do not speak good English, but they try.

The food is the best thing in this place.

Restroom was small and, hm, not perfectly clean.

However, I can´t help giving this place 5 stars, for I had sensed something genuine Chinese there...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Chinese, despite location!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Mr Tongs is surrounded by dodgy looking Italian pizza/pasta joints and more Argentinian steak houses than i have ever seen before - but then again I have never seen one before! This is tourist land and all of these restaurants try and hustle you inside with the promise of this and that and anything else they can think of. We were even subjected to a shout of Asda-Price outside one particularly lousy looking Italian. We were tired and hungry and in a strange town so we took the plunge into Mr Tongs - mainly because no-one was outside hustling!! Nice surroundings and friendly staff put us at ease and what followed was a very good meal which was as good as most of the Chinese restaurants we have been to. Not haute cuisine but good solid cooking with decent produce. Enjoyable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food was excellent, service was terrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The food was very very good. the duck was amazing and crunchy. The service seemed a bit arrogant, the waiter's english was poor and it she didn't try too much to explain the menu. Anyhow, we had a very good time because the food is just great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great crispy duck special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A colleague and I stumbled across this place and really enjoyed it. The crispy duck, served with scallions, hoisin sauce, and pancakes, is delicious and a very decent deal. My friend had the crispy beef (it was just a very crispy evening) and I had a taste. That was delicious as well. Service was very attentive and helpful. This restaurant turned out to be a lucky choice.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Tongs also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Mr Tongs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr Tongs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.