We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I eat here every time I'm in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Piazza

Cafe Piazza
Kloveniersburgwal 5 | 1011 JT, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 423 0164
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Polish, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Original Italian Pizza on thin base, prepared always from fresh ingredients is one of our specialties. We also have a large selection of Italian pastas and East European specials. Everyone will find something delicious. Cafe Piazza is located in one of the most interesting places of Amsterdam, on the Nieuw Markt. It is a place often visited by the inhabitants of Amsterdam, who visit the stalls and antiques fair held Saturday on the central square, as well as tourists who are attracted by the medieval building "De Waag" located in the central part of the square as well as more than 20 cafes and coffieshops surrounding the square. Nieuw Markt is also the place that attracts all the people during the biggest Amsterdam events, such as the "Queen's Day" or "Chinese and European New Year".
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“I eat here every time I'm in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Try the "Gathering of Small Fish" and the perogies. Also a good selection of pizza and pastas are available. Good beer on draft; a pils, a wit beer, and a Polish beer (Tyskie). A warm and inviting place in which to spend the evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    35
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great food and excellent service! Of you are looking for a nice romantic dinner were the food matches the service then go to café piazza! Very friendly owner who really makes you feel special.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We are two local Dutch guys and chanced upon this beautiful little restaurant after the Sunday afternoon jam session in the Engelbewaarder.

I am sure they make great pizza, but when they told us they are actually Polish we asked why dont you have Polish food? And they said: "but we do".

Agath and the beautiful waitress Shuga turned on the charm and their amazing cooking and service skills and we fell in love with the place immediately. Great food, great service and very reasonable priced with a great view over the Kloverniersburgwal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely, cozy, hospitable. Agàta will make you feel welcome and at home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Lovely Italian cafe. Everything is good but definitely try the "Gathering of Small Fish." I'm in Amsterdam 7-10 days a month and I've gotten around. I go back to Cafe Piazza almost every trip. Agàta's hospitality and pleasant conversation is worth the trip alone. You won't be disappointed!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty and well-priced gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were looking for pizza for a change of pace for dinner, and were very pleasantly surprised to find this neighborhood spot. Just down the street from de Waag, we enjoyed a couple of pizzas (Margarita and di Parmi) a beer and a glass of wine for under 30 Euro (in fact, we were early enough to catch a special and our bill was closer to 22 Euro). Crispy crust, fresh ingredients, and great flavor - friendly service too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Piazza also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Piazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Piazza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.