We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strongly recommended nice and quiet B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rubens Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rubens Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Rubens Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Roetersstraat 18A, 1018WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Bologna, Italia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Strongly recommended nice and quiet B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I've been in Amsterdam for 5 days, and I strongly recommend this B&B because it really made my stay very pleasing: basically that's because Joyce and Oliver are really nice persons, very helpful for any need. Everything was really quiet, sited on a peaceful neighborhood, just 3 metro-stops away from the central station. But I didn't have to use any tram or public transport (very expensive!), even because every place of interest in Amsterdam is quite near to the B&B (Van Gogh/Rijksmuseum was just 15 minutes walk, Rembrandtplein 5 minutes, Dam square 5/10 minutes away). My room was small but really comfortable, with a huge bathroom and a nice view outside by the side of a canal. The breakfast was various, from bread with jam, cheese, orange juice, and a boiler for a cup of tea, or cappuccino. I had to take steep and narrow stairs to get to the first floor, but you find this everywhere in Amsterdam, so you can't complain for something like this! I would DEFINITELY come back in case of another stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

I have just returned from a weekend in Amsterdam. There were 2 couples & we hired the studio appt & double room - both accessible by one door. Rooms were very clean with all amenities. Breakfast was left in the room the night before which we found particularly good as more often than not we miss it! Plus was nice not to rush to get to a dining room.

Location wise depends on what you want. If you want the hustle & bustle of Dam Sq then stay closer but we prefer to be a bit quieter. It had metro & tram stops close by but Amsterdam is so accessible you can walk everywhere. Guest house was about 10 mins walk to Rembrandt Sq & similar to De Pijp neighbourhood which is worth a visit. There were plenty of bars & restaurant nearby & supermarket round the corner. We stayed over a weekend so can't comment on noise from students but there is a campus directly opposite.

Communication with owner Joyce was great & we were able to check in immediately on arrival. Check out was 10am & they did offer to keep our bags but we left them at Central Station.

One tip don't bother with airport transfers, train to Central Station is so easy & cheap and then from the Station you can walk or get bus/ tram/ metro to where you need to go. Public transport is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This second floor apartment was ideal for us as a place to base ourselves whilst exploring Amsterdam. The owner, Joyce Small, lives next door and showed us around. The two sets of stairs leading up to the room are very narrow and windy, but I think this is farily typical of this style of building. We paid her 100 Euros cash per night upon arrival. The apartment was very easy to find, having received precise directions from Joyce by e-mail. It only took us about 5 minutes to walk from the nearest metro station.

There was one lovely large bedroom with a comfy double bed, with double doors leading into a fair-sized living room with tall windows and doors which opened onto a small balcony that overlooked the university building opposite and a canal to the right. The living room was comfortably appointed with 2 leather settees covered by throws, tv,and music centre. The living room area merged into the very well equipped kitchen, with all the essentials and more. The bathroom was opposite the bedroom across the corridor, with a bath/shower to the left and vanity sink to the right. The toilet was in an adjoining room. There was also a washing machine in the bathroom which, from memory, we would have been allowed to use if we'd stayed longer than our 3 nights, but I can't recall if we would have had to pay a bit more for this facility. We felt right at home in this very welcoming and familiar environment, but still had our very important privacy. Every afternoon Joyce dropped by to bring supplies of milk and orange juice, fresh bread, cheeses and meats, from which we easily had enough for breakfast and to then make up a packed lunch.

Because we arrived on a Friday afternoon and left again on a Monday morning, we had no experiences of the students at the university opposite, so can't comment on whether there would be noise nuisance during the school week. There was a comprehensive supermarket about 2 minutes walk away, and the best meal we had locally was undoubtedly at the nearby Italian restaurant, turn left out of the front door of the apartment and continue no more than 250 metres, and it's there on the left (sorry, I can't remember its name, but it was lovely).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Location:
- walkable to most places (we didn't take any public transports inside Amsterdam)
- 30 min to central station
- 20 min to Dam and shops
-10 min to Waterloophein
- supermarket nearby
- near the university and its canteen so you can have cheaper meals and free WC when necessary
-metro and tram station nearby
- a quiet area comparing to Jordann

Room (double room):
- with free wifi
- clean
- with a canal view
- private bathroom is big enough
- we have our own key so we can go out and back freely
- no smoking allowed so there is no bad smell

--> a bit small, we must put the table and chairs into the bathroom for our big suitcases
--> no a/c but it was not hot at night in July
--> there was some construction going in the university so it was a bit noisy
--> many ambulances pass by
--> we could hear the people walking and talking clearly as we stayed on the 2nd floor
--> steep staircases, not too easy to walk with suitcases or even without anything
--> one light bulb wasn't working but the host said it was quite impossible to change that during our stay

--> be careful of the door before entering to the area of the B&B!! both my husband and I had hurt our fingers!!

Breakfast:
- more than enough everyday with bread, ham, cheese, fruits, yogurt, milk, cereal, juice butter and so on

--> the type of bread is the same everyday but I don't mind about that
--> the owner forgot to give us fruits one day but it isn't a real matter

Host (Joyce)
- nice and friendly, try to offer everything we need or ask for
- show us some areas on the map on the first day
- allow us to put the luggage before check-in and after check-out
- communicate with me very well and quickly before our trip

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This was a 1 seperate bedroom place with a sleep sofa, extra sofa and rollaway in the main room located in a residential area of Amsterdam call the Plantage near the zoo. The seperate bedroom had aqueen bed and a seperate bath was a bit small but adequate, Like most residences in this area the steps are very narrow, curving and very difficult to get up with luggage. The refrigerator was well stocked with breakfast items and was restocked daily. The kitchen was fully equipped however the using more than one appliance blew the circuit breaker. We had hoped for more information on the neighborhood from the owner but it was not forthcoming. It is a 30-35 minute walk to the central train station area or museum district but it was worth the walk. Trams, subways and canal boats were all within a 5-10 walk from the residence.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor suite (whcis the second floor in Europe)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

This b&B is located on a canal near the university district giving easy access to many of Amsterdam's best attractions by foot. The Van Gogh museum and Rijskmuseum were fifteen minutes by foot and the Centraal Station three short stops on the metro. The rooms are located on the second floor up a steep flight of steps. Our room was a good size, although the whole living area (bed, sitting area, kitchen, and eating space) was one with an attached bath. With the fold-out cot set up there wasn't a great deal of extra room. The beds were also not the most comfortable, especially the cot which was quite small, lumpy and bumpy. The room had two walls of large windows overlooking the street that provided lots of light, but also some noise from below. For breakfast, the host came each day to ensure that the kitchen was stocked with cereal, fresh bread, milk, yogourt, butter, meat, cheese, coffee, juice, fruit, and jam. Having the kitchen thus gave you great flexibility as to when you ate. It also provided you with the means to make your own other meals, if you so desired. Our host, Joyce was very friendly and extremely helpful. She provided some excellent restaurant recommendations nearby. I would definitely suggest staying in this b&b, as the price for such good accommodations was very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rubens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubens Bed & Breakfast

Address: Roetersstraat 18A, 1018WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubens Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.