We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Bayan B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayan Bed n Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bayan Bed n Breakfast to your Saves list
Bayan Bed n Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rozengracht 90, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the Bayan B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This B&B is in an excellent location, great value and the best part is Vicky, who runs the Bayan B&B. She is a wonderful host, and the breakfast she provides in the morning is worth it alone. This is the second time my wife and I stayed there, and we'll likely never stay anywhere else when traveling to Amsterdam. Very clean and cozy rooms, and perfectly located that makes walking to nearly all of the city attractions quite easy. I'm already looking forward to my next trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Me, my partner and two friends stayed there on 4th-6th april 2014 and all i can say that is they are a lovely family and made our stay the best ever! They helped us as much as they could, made a beautiful breakfast each morning and even asked us what time we would like it for. They went out there way to make our stay amazing and the room was lovely and homely. No time to come in, and great location we was near everything all in walking distance. Will defo be going back! We are already making plans for returning. Thank you all at bayan for our lovely stay you made it AMAZING!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Vicky is a lovely host and her B&B is excellent. the atmosphere to live in Amsterdam downtown is unbeatable I recommend it to everyone's who want to experience the true Amsterdam city life. The room rate and the quality is in the right target for a city like Amsterdam

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Vicky is a lovely host and her B&B is excellent. Our room was large and had a table, chairs and sofa as well as the comfy bed. If you're tired of large, generic, corporate hotels and you're after a more personal experience then this is the place for you. As others have mentioned the breakfast is great and really sets you up for the day. The location is good too: an easy walk to Dam Square.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We're a family of four who loves B&Bs, old buildings and being central to major sites. A lot of emails were sent (it is quite difficult finding reasonably priced one room B&B that fits four in Amsterdam!) before I finally received a promising reply from Vicky.

Before I continue, if you have a physical mobility, stop reading and look for a different place. Maybe a boathouse or a new/chain hotel with an elevator. Stairs are typical of old Amsterdam homes. Steep, narrow, and abundant! If you have gigantic luggages, I am sure Vicky can help but just FYI. Moms with young children need to make sure you carry or hold their child. Ours is 9 and 4 and they/we managed just fine!

We arrived early via ferry from England and Vicky let us store our bags upon arrival (11a) and gave us a key. The B&B was centrally located and while on a main road, was quiet inside. Our room was at the very top and spacious. We had a Queen (UK King) size beed and the children's sofa bed was as spacious and comfy. There was a tea/coffee making area, fridge and tables + chairs. Breakfast for us was in their dining room and was lovely and abundant. Since Vicky only have boys for children (lovely well behaved boys), she spoiled ours girls and I think she would have kept one if we let her ;)

Payment was cash only but there's a cash machine right outside the door. Easy!

The B&B was a 20 min walk from the station. Trams are 5 min walk away. We walked in but tram it back to the station.

I highly recommend this place for an affordable, central, clean and family friendly stay. Unless we rent a houseboat next, we will definitely stay with Vicky again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the Bayan Guesthouse at the beginning of October. The Bayan is located on one of the main streets in the Jordaan district of Amsterdam. For me, the Jordaan is the best location to base yourself in while visiting the city. It's hip, trendy, safe and peaceful while still only being a 20 minute walk from the central station and a 10 minute walk to the more notorious and rowdy areas of the city. Having seen the hotels and craziness around areas such as Leidensplein, Rembrandtsplein etc... we were so happy to have selected the Jordaan as our base.

The rooms of the guesthouse are housed in a traditional tall, narrow building synonymous with the city. The experience and vibe of staying here can perhaps be more accurately described as if you were renting a room in the owner's home. Vicky and her family stay here and so there is no breakfast room or communal area. Instead a bountiful breakfast is brought to your room each morning by Vicky which you then eat in confines of your own room. In terms of the room itself, the level of accommodation was perfectly fine. Nothing to write home about but equally nothing to complain about and for the price point in what can be an expensive city, we were satisfied.

All in all, Amsterdam is a wonderful city to visit for a few days and we will be doing so again. when we do the he main reasons why we will happily return to the Bayan on our next visit is its location and the friendliness and helpful nature of its owner, Vicky.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in Bayan BnB.....all I can say is it is truly a "Home Away from Home"
The bed and breakfast is ran by a lovely Filipino couple (Vicky and Danny), The room that was given to us was at the top floor facing the street.
Didn't have any problem sleeping,...it was not noisy at all in that room considering that there are a few cars passing by the street. The room has a wonderful chic design,
some Filipino accents are placed there....if you happen to stay here in this room look for the authentic traditional Filipino weaved bag hung on the wall. :-)

The bathroom and toilet is immaculately clean. Towels are replaced everyday. There is also wifi access on all rooms.

The breakfast is fantastic, Vicky will make sure that you are full and ready for the long walks that you will be doing in Amsterdam.

By the way, Anne Frank's house is just a minute walk away from the BnB...Anne's house is always packed with people....queue to get in would reach up to the Cathedral....we were so lucky that the BnB was so close... that in the morning we were the first people to be in Anne's House. :-)

The BnB is a 12min walk from the Centraal Station....the area is also accesible by trams.

Vicky and Danny welcomed us as if we are part of their family...you will feel the genuine warmth and hospitality of a Filipino family.

I will definitely return to this BnB on my next trip to Amsterdam!

See you soon Vicky and Danny :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Petit Prince
Petit Prince
#26 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#29 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Jordaan
The Royal Canal Suite
The Royal Canal Suite
#71 of 322 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Jackie O Bed & Breakfast
Jackie O Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 322 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#43 of 322 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Jordaan
B&B La Festa
B&B La Festa
#46 of 322 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayan Bed n Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayan Bed n Breakfast

Address: Rozengracht 90, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayan Bed n Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bayan Bed n Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayan Bed n Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.