We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for our family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayan Bed n Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bayan Bed n Breakfast to your Saves list
Bayan Bed n Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rozengracht 90, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great for our family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We're a family of four who loves B&Bs, old buildings and being central to major sites. A lot of emails were sent (it is quite difficult finding reasonably priced one room B&B that fits four in Amsterdam!) before I finally received a promising reply from Vicky.

Before I continue, if you have a physical mobility, stop reading and look for a different place. Maybe a boathouse or a new/chain hotel with an elevator. Stairs are typical of old Amsterdam homes. Steep, narrow, and abundant! If you have gigantic luggages, I am sure Vicky can help but just FYI. Moms with young children need to make sure you carry or hold their child. Ours is 9 and 4 and they/we managed just fine!

We arrived early via ferry from England and Vicky let us store our bags upon arrival (11a) and gave us a key. The B&B was centrally located and while on a main road, was quiet inside. Our room was at the very top and spacious. We had a Queen (UK King) size beed and the children's sofa bed was as spacious and comfy. There was a tea/coffee making area, fridge and tables + chairs. Breakfast for us was in their dining room and was lovely and abundant. Since Vicky only have boys for children (lovely well behaved boys), she spoiled ours girls and I think she would have kept one if we let her ;)

Payment was cash only but there's a cash machine right outside the door. Easy!

The B&B was a 20 min walk from the station. Trams are 5 min walk away. We walked in but tram it back to the station.

I highly recommend this place for an affordable, central, clean and family friendly stay. Unless we rent a houseboat next, we will definitely stay with Vicky again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the Bayan Guesthouse at the beginning of October. The Bayan is located on one of the main streets in the Jordaan district of Amsterdam. For me, the Jordaan is the best location to base yourself in while visiting the city. It's hip, trendy, safe and peaceful while still only being a 20 minute walk from the central station and a 10 minute walk to the more notorious and rowdy areas of the city. Having seen the hotels and craziness around areas such as Leidensplein, Rembrandtsplein etc... we were so happy to have selected the Jordaan as our base.

The rooms of the guesthouse are housed in a traditional tall, narrow building synonymous with the city. The experience and vibe of staying here can perhaps be more accurately described as if you were renting a room in the owner's home. Vicky and her family stay here and so there is no breakfast room or communal area. Instead a bountiful breakfast is brought to your room each morning by Vicky which you then eat in confines of your own room. In terms of the room itself, the level of accommodation was perfectly fine. Nothing to write home about but equally nothing to complain about and for the price point in what can be an expensive city, we were satisfied.

All in all, Amsterdam is a wonderful city to visit for a few days and we will be doing so again. when we do the he main reasons why we will happily return to the Bayan on our next visit is its location and the friendliness and helpful nature of its owner, Vicky.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in Bayan BnB.....all I can say is it is truly a "Home Away from Home"
The bed and breakfast is ran by a lovely Filipino couple (Vicky and Danny), The room that was given to us was at the top floor facing the street.
Didn't have any problem sleeping,...it was not noisy at all in that room considering that there are a few cars passing by the street. The room has a wonderful chic design,
some Filipino accents are placed there....if you happen to stay here in this room look for the authentic traditional Filipino weaved bag hung on the wall. :-)

The bathroom and toilet is immaculately clean. Towels are replaced everyday. There is also wifi access on all rooms.

The breakfast is fantastic, Vicky will make sure that you are full and ready for the long walks that you will be doing in Amsterdam.

By the way, Anne Frank's house is just a minute walk away from the BnB...Anne's house is always packed with people....queue to get in would reach up to the Cathedral....we were so lucky that the BnB was so close... that in the morning we were the first people to be in Anne's House. :-)

The BnB is a 12min walk from the Centraal Station....the area is also accesible by trams.

Vicky and Danny welcomed us as if we are part of their family...you will feel the genuine warmth and hospitality of a Filipino family.

I will definitely return to this BnB on my next trip to Amsterdam!

See you soon Vicky and Danny :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nites in this quaint B&B in central Amsterdam. Vicky runs a lovely place ... wonderful breakfasts served in the room, ... even a packed breakfast on our last morning & very clean. She carried our bags up the 3 sets of steps and down those steps when we checked out!
Nice location that was close to trams, nice walking areas, great restaurants and felt very safe!
Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

For 110€/night I would not call this cheap in another city, but in Amsterdam it sure is a great value. The location is perfect, just five minutes walk from the West-Church (so 10-15 from Dam Square). The place has three rooms, all very pretty. The ones on the top floor are somewhat more "typical" and cozy, but the stairs to get there are reeeeeally steep. The room on the second floor is very nice as well, and easier to access, with a somewhat bigger bathroom.
Alright, as many other reviewers said, the biggest plus of this B&B is probably the breakfast. Every morning Vicky would lovely prepare you eggs, bacon, waffles or some other sweet, toast, fruit and yogurt, all generously served with Nespresso coffee.
If I am back in Amsterdam and still want to be in a B&B I would surely go back to Bayan!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from Vicky's guest house.I was with my partner for 2 nights.Beforehand Vicky sent me an accurate description of how to get there from the airport.The train from the airport then tram number from the airport.The tram is only 3 stops and to be honest a 10 minute walk which we did back today.The guesthouse is easy to find and Vicky was welcoming when we arrived .We were on the 3rd floor which yes is steep but si is all of the places in Amsterdam.The room was on the main steet but not noisey and spacious with authentic decor,comfy bed,couch,table and chairs and lovely bathroom.Vicky gave us a map of Amsterdam and Holland passes.It was raining and cold and Vicky offered me her warm jacket which believe me was well appreciated.Breakfast was amazing,bacon,eggs,juice,fruit,yogurt and cake!the location was fantastic with everything on your doorstop.The canal cruise a 2 minute walk,Anne Frank House on the corner and much more within minutes.The lovely Jordaan district just round the corner was a gem with quaint Dutch shops and cafes with trendy shops.Vicky was a great host,most accommodating and genuine.I would highly recommend this place and it is good value.My partner and I walked everywhere as it was so central but you can rent bikes a couple doors down.Thanks Vicky,you made a wet and cold week end much better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great BnB in the heart of Amsterdam, located 3 tram stops from Centraal station. Anne Frank House is a 5-min walk away. Our host Vicky was courteous and of great assistance with information/tips about Amsterdam's attractions. She and her husband helped carry our luggage up the narrow winding staircase. A tasty hot breakfast was served each morning downstairs in the dining room. Vicky also brought up a cold breakfast the night before our early morning departure. We stayed in the rooms on the topmost floor, both well furnished. One room had windows facing the back of the property; it was quiet and comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was well equipped with towels and amenities. The other room faced the main road and was noisy, the bed was not as comfortable and wifi signal was slightly weaker. Other minor points of observation - There was no exhaust fan in this ensuite bathroom, whose toilet roll holder was broken & the doorknob was falling off. Cash-only payment meant we had to carry more cash on hand than desired. Overall, a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Petit Prince
Petit Prince
#27 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#29 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Jordaan
The Royal Canal Suite
The Royal Canal Suite
#72 of 322 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Jackie O Bed & Breakfast
Jackie O Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 322 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#43 of 322 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Jordaan
B&B La Festa
B&B La Festa
#47 of 322 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayan Bed n Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayan Bed n Breakfast

Address: Rozengracht 90, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayan Bed n Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bayan Bed n Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayan Bed n Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.