We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique & homely in a great area of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayan Bed n Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Bayan Bed n Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bayan Bed n Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rozengracht 90, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 302 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“unique & homely in a great area of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the Bayan Guesthouse at the beginning of October. The Bayan is located on one of the main streets in the Jordaan district of Amsterdam. For me, the Jordaan is the best location to base yourself in while visiting the city. It's hip, trendy, safe and peaceful while still only being a 20 minute walk from the central station and a 10 minute walk to the more notorious and rowdy areas of the city. Having seen the hotels and craziness around areas such as Leidensplein, Rembrandtsplein etc... we were so happy to have selected the Jordaan as our base.

The rooms of the guesthouse are housed in a traditional tall, narrow building synonymous with the city. The experience and vibe of staying here can perhaps be more accurately described as if you were renting a room in the owner's home. Vicky and her family stay here and so there is no breakfast room or communal area. Instead a bountiful breakfast is brought to your room each morning by Vicky which you then eat in confines of your own room. In terms of the room itself, the level of accommodation was perfectly fine. Nothing to write home about but equally nothing to complain about and for the price point in what can be an expensive city, we were satisfied.

All in all, Amsterdam is a wonderful city to visit for a few days and we will be doing so again. when we do the he main reasons why we will happily return to the Bayan on our next visit is its location and the friendliness and helpful nature of its owner, Vicky.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in Bayan BnB.....all I can say is it is truly a "Home Away from Home"
The bed and breakfast is ran by a lovely Filipino couple (Vicky and Danny), The room that was given to us was at the top floor facing the street.
Didn't have any problem sleeping,...it was not noisy at all in that room considering that there are a few cars passing by the street. The room has a wonderful chic design,
some Filipino accents are placed there....if you happen to stay here in this room look for the authentic traditional Filipino weaved bag hung on the wall. :-)

The bathroom and toilet is immaculately clean. Towels are replaced everyday. There is also wifi access on all rooms.

The breakfast is fantastic, Vicky will make sure that you are full and ready for the long walks that you will be doing in Amsterdam.

By the way, Anne Frank's house is just a minute walk away from the BnB...Anne's house is always packed with people....queue to get in would reach up to the Cathedral....we were so lucky that the BnB was so close... that in the morning we were the first people to be in Anne's House. :-)

The BnB is a 12min walk from the Centraal Station....the area is also accesible by trams.

Vicky and Danny welcomed us as if we are part of their family...you will feel the genuine warmth and hospitality of a Filipino family.

I will definitely return to this BnB on my next trip to Amsterdam!

See you soon Vicky and Danny :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nites in this quaint B&B in central Amsterdam. Vicky runs a lovely place ... wonderful breakfasts served in the room, ... even a packed breakfast on our last morning & very clean. She carried our bags up the 3 sets of steps and down those steps when we checked out!
Nice location that was close to trams, nice walking areas, great restaurants and felt very safe!
Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

For 110€/night I would not call this cheap in another city, but in Amsterdam it sure is a great value. The location is perfect, just five minutes walk from the West-Church (so 10-15 from Dam Square). The place has three rooms, all very pretty. The ones on the top floor are somewhat more "typical" and cozy, but the stairs to get there are reeeeeally steep. The room on the second floor is very nice as well, and easier to access, with a somewhat bigger bathroom.
Alright, as many other reviewers said, the biggest plus of this B&B is probably the breakfast. Every morning Vicky would lovely prepare you eggs, bacon, waffles or some other sweet, toast, fruit and yogurt, all generously served with Nespresso coffee.
If I am back in Amsterdam and still want to be in a B&B I would surely go back to Bayan!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from Vicky's guest house.I was with my partner for 2 nights.Beforehand Vicky sent me an accurate description of how to get there from the airport.The train from the airport then tram number from the airport.The tram is only 3 stops and to be honest a 10 minute walk which we did back today.The guesthouse is easy to find and Vicky was welcoming when we arrived .We were on the 3rd floor which yes is steep but si is all of the places in Amsterdam.The room was on the main steet but not noisey and spacious with authentic decor,comfy bed,couch,table and chairs and lovely bathroom.Vicky gave us a map of Amsterdam and Holland passes.It was raining and cold and Vicky offered me her warm jacket which believe me was well appreciated.Breakfast was amazing,bacon,eggs,juice,fruit,yogurt and cake!the location was fantastic with everything on your doorstop.The canal cruise a 2 minute walk,Anne Frank House on the corner and much more within minutes.The lovely Jordaan district just round the corner was a gem with quaint Dutch shops and cafes with trendy shops.Vicky was a great host,most accommodating and genuine.I would highly recommend this place and it is good value.My partner and I walked everywhere as it was so central but you can rent bikes a couple doors down.Thanks Vicky,you made a wet and cold week end much better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great BnB in the heart of Amsterdam, located 3 tram stops from Centraal station. Anne Frank House is a 5-min walk away. Our host Vicky was courteous and of great assistance with information/tips about Amsterdam's attractions. She and her husband helped carry our luggage up the narrow winding staircase. A tasty hot breakfast was served each morning downstairs in the dining room. Vicky also brought up a cold breakfast the night before our early morning departure. We stayed in the rooms on the topmost floor, both well furnished. One room had windows facing the back of the property; it was quiet and comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was well equipped with towels and amenities. The other room faced the main road and was noisy, the bed was not as comfortable and wifi signal was slightly weaker. Other minor points of observation - There was no exhaust fan in this ensuite bathroom, whose toilet roll holder was broken & the doorknob was falling off. Cash-only payment meant we had to carry more cash on hand than desired. Overall, a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed with Vicky and her family for 6 nights and were extremely satisfied with everything about Banyan. Location is great, breakfast huge, varied and tasty, room large and clean and you would be hard pressed to find a more friendly relaxed host family. Certainly recommend it for your Amsterdam stay.

Room Tip: We were in the back room which was extremely quiet and looked out onto a well of gardens from neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayan Bed n Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayan Bed n Breakfast

Address: Rozengracht 90, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayan Bed n Breakfast 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bayan Bed n Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayan Bed n Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.