We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayan Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Bayan Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bayan Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rozengracht 90, Amsterdam 1016, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Doha
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed with Vicky and her family for 6 nights and were extremely satisfied with everything about Banyan. Location is great, breakfast huge, varied and tasty, room large and clean and you would be hard pressed to find a more friendly relaxed host family. Certainly recommend it for your Amsterdam stay.

Room Tip: We were in the back room which was extremely quiet and looked out onto a well of gardens from neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

It's with pleasure to let future guests know that my wife and I had a wonderful stay because of the cleanliness and general facilities. The proprietor also had a wonderful super service attitude.
She couldn't have been more gracious and helpful. Also served the best breakfast we've encountered in our travels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Fantastic! clean, great location! big room with huge bathroom! excelent breakfast (also served in the room)!! we highly recommend it for your stay in Amsterdam!
Fantastico bed and breakfast! genial localización, a 10 minutos andando de la plaza de Dam! habitación limpia, grande con baño nuevo! desayundo completo! gran hospitalidad a cargo de Vicky 100% recomendable!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Arrived the same day I booked the room. Their smallest room is still spacious. Overall, I enjoyed my stay there!

The guest house is owned by a nice filipino family. They're very friendly and they offered tips about the city.

Bayan is accessible via the tram, just have to walk around 200 m to get to the station.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was my first stop during my 58 days in Europe. The BnB is well located, just off the tram line. The hosts are wonderful. The breakfast is excellent. The room is basic, but clean. The bathroom is small, but works. The stairs are very steep, as others have noted. If this is a problem for you, avoid this BnB. I will attempt to attach a picture of the stairs. In summary, I was pleased and would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My son and I spent 4 nights at the Bayan B&B and enjoyed our stay. First, I deliberately looked for a B&B because I know that most EU hotels have small rooms and are very expensive. Basically, everywhere in Amsterdam is very expensive, so in comparison, it had a reasonable rate (€ 99/night). What I felt was an advantage over a hotel was a spacious, comfortable room with a renovated bathroom. Here are the main points:

- Location was excellent, on the edge of the Jordaan area which is generally more quiet, quaint and charming than other areas. (So glad we stayed in this area after seeing the Central Amsterdam area, mayhem!). This B&B was in walking distance to the Anne Frank House.

- ROOM: The room was spacious, we had room to walk around. Nice furniture & decor. Nice amentities. Bathroom was clean and also spacious. The building is old, as most are in historic Amsterdam, but the owners made renovations. I.E. nice, clean shower, & plumbing fixtures. **Bed is comfortable, firm.

- BREAKFAST: Breakfast was served in our room and was always fresh and plentiful. Eggs, bacon, soft bread w/jams, yogurt, coffee & OJ. The quality far exceeds that of hotel breakfasts, speaking from experience. ***Vicky even provided a lovely cold breakfast in our room the night before our pre-dawn departure.

- SERVICE: Vicky is a gracious, accommodating host and truly makes this B&B special. She is quick to fulfill any needs, but also makes sure you feel you have privacy. ***As we entered the building, Vicky greeted us immediately and effortlessly whisked our very heavy luggage up the steep stairs -- quite impressive.

I felt this property had no real drawbacks. But there are a few points that some might not prefer. That is:

- Steep Stairs: This did not bother us since we know it is common in these historic buildings. But for those who have physical limitations, any B&B in an old building will have this.

- This B&B is located above a small takeout restaurant. Again, this did not bother us since the place below was quiet, not much business happens there. Not a drawback for us, but maybe to some.

- Cash Only: This is the only thing that I wish were different. It is a little inconvenient to travel with a large amount of cash to pay for the room in addition to spending money.

Overall, we enjoyed the privacy, space, comfort and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and me spent three nights at Bayan B&B.
All I can write it’s just a confirmation of the previous reviews I read before choosing this B&B.
Vicky runs this place with care, professionalism and passion. She can also help you with good suggestions about how to spend and save time in Amsterdam.
The room was clean, nice and big enough, and the bathroom too. The breakfast huge and different every morning. Wi-fi is included.
The place (located in the historic Jordaan district) is convenient to be reached from the Central station (three tram stops or 7-8 euro by taxi if you have too many luggage) and also close to all the most interesting spots of the city (Anna Frank’s house in 3 minutes walking, the Dam 10 minutes)
Additonal suggestions: try the sandwiches in the coffee bar very close to bayan, just on the right when you go out from the main door, right after the Italian restaurant. Amazing!
We will for sure suggest this B&B to any friend who will visit Amsterdam and we hope to come back again.
Vicky you are doing a great job, keep going like this!!
Riccardo & Linda

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayan Guesthouse

Address: Rozengracht 90, Amsterdam 1016, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayan Guesthouse 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bayan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayan Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.