We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Breakfast, Well Located, Immaculate, & Great Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayan Bed n Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bayan Bed n Breakfast to your Saves list
Bayan Bed n Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rozengracht 90, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Seattle Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast, Well Located, Immaculate, & Great Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Well located B&B about 15 minute walk from Train Station and very close to Anne Frank House. Our room was spacious and immaculate with a very comfortable large bed, nice closet/wardrobe area to hang clothes, lots of natural light from picture window, and was VERY quiet at night. The room was located on the back side of the house over looking a small courtyard. The spacious and modern bathroom (for Amsterdam) was also very clean. There is a tea kettle with Teas/Coffee in the room. Vicky and her family are terrific hosts!! She made fabulous breakfasts each of the four days we stayed there including dutch pancakes, eggs, bacon, cheeses, breads, juices, coffee & tea, fresh fruits. We chose to have our breakfasts in the family kitchen/dining area (rather than in our room) which was much more fun and gave us a chance to visit with Vicky and her family (she has 3 really well behaved and wonderful sons), and her husband Danny. She also invited us to dinner one night in which she cooked a delicious Filipino meal and made us feel like we were part of the family. Bayan B&B is near the Jordaan neighborhood and close to all kinds of great restaurants. We also easily walked (20 minutes) to the Rijks Museum and Van Gogh Musuem ----in Amsterdam most places of interest are within easy walk as it is flat, with lovely views of the canals and historic buildings. One word of caution -- the stairs are a bit steep for anyone with mobility issues. We were biking through the Netherlands and were able to bring our bikes up the stairs and into Vicky's back patio area. I highly recommend Bayan B&B as we enjoyed our stay there and felt it was very reasonable, clean, quiet, with delightful hosts!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

What a shame. After reading all of the good reviews on tripadvisor I expected more from this B&B. My husband and I spent three nights there in August and paid Euro110 per night. Perhaps what let it down was that Vicky wasn't there for the duration of our stay- and it seems from previous reviews she had a lot to do with the positive reviews.

When we arrived, we were shown to our room up some very steep, narrow stairs - fine for us, but if you have heavy luggage watch out. We were given the keys to the room and asked what time we wanted breakfast. However, we weren't shown the lounge or told that breakfast would be in our room - so it was a bit confusing in the morning as we called around trying to find out what to do.

Location: The bnb is located on a main street in Jordaan. Jordaan itself is lovely and has some fabulous restaurants and shops. I really loved the back alleyways and smaller canals. It's about a 20-25 min walk from the station. We got a cab there when we arrived and took the tram on the way back. Anne Franks house is literally a 5 min walk, as are a number of good restaurants.

Room: The room was ok. Clean and well presented. A double bed, wardrobe, table etc and small fridge - plus a kettle with tea/coffee making facilities. There's also a flat screen digital tv. The bathroom has a basin, toilet and shower (generally clean despite the black hair in the shower). The toilet is really high and my feet didn't touch the floor!! not bad, just quite amusing.

Breakfast: As previous reviews mentioned, breakfast was served in our bedroom. Each day there was something different - eggs and bacon or pancakes and croissants. The fruit and yogurt was good and the fresh orange juice was lovely.

Service: Friendly staff when I saw someone, however this is where the bnb let itself down. I've never stayed in a bnb where the rooms are never tidied or cleaned. During all 3 nights/4 days of our stay, our room and bathroom was not entered or cleaned once. One day the breakfast tray was sat there for the entire day until we gave the tray to the gentleman when we got home. If we had used the tea and coffee making facilities - it wouldn't have been cleaned. The tiny towels we were given were not changed. I thought this was really not good at all - specially as our hand towel was the one draped over the toilet when we arrived.

I wouldn't pay Euro330 for 3 nights like that so it was a let down.

Also, note: they don't take credit cards but there's a cash point downstairs

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco and London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Location, Location, Location! We stayed at Bayan with a group of 7 adults (3 couples and one single friend). Bayan has 3 ensuite rooms, each with double beds, one has a couch where our single friend stayed (we had all 3 rooms booked for the weekend). The rooms are recently updated with modern baths which is always much appreciated. I think the highlight of the bed and breakfast is its location on a convenient street in the Jordaan neighbourhood (very close to the Anne Frank house). Vary easy to get around town, we rented bikes from a place around the corner and cycled around the duration of the trip (we parked them on the street in front over night with no issue) but the tram line is also very close (which connects you to the central train station). Vicky and her family are lovely (she has 3 young sons) and the breakfasts were delicious. One morning she prepared Dutch style pancakes and the other we had eggs and sausage, both days with delicious fresh fruit/coffee/juice etc. She will ask you for your preference and cater to your needs though. The rates for her rooms are €120/night, or because we had 3 ppl in one she charged €150/night for that one. Hope you enjoy Amsterdam as much as we did!

Room Tip: The "Orange room" can accomidate 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights Fri-Mon. Vicky and her family are lovely and the room was spotless. Nice en-suite, TV, fridge, everything you could need. Good decor, light and airy and the best bit...You get a choice of breakfast downstairs or IN BED! Needless to say we chose the latter and Vicky brings it to your door for you to eat at the table in the rrom. The breaksfast itself was huge, no need for lunch for any of the time we were there.

The B&B is in a good location, just around the corner from Anne Frank's House and on a main tram route although we walked everywhere. You can come and go as you please, very laid back atmosphere, would come back and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

This was a lovely Bed and Breakfast. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. You can choose to eat breakfast in your room or at their kitchen table at a time you choose. The breakfasts were extremely yummy - good choices and well cooked - eggs, bacon, bread, yogurt, fruit, coffee, etc.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayan Bed n Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayan Bed n Breakfast

Address: Rozengracht 90, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayan Bed n Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Bayan Bed n Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayan Bed n Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.