We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere and great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purna Indian Restaurant

Purna Indian Restaurant
Hartenstraat 29, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
Improve this listing
Ranked #489 of 2,537 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: telephone: 020-623-67-72
Greenwich, London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Food was very good - great King Prawn Madras and really delicious nan - and the atmosphere was nice and relaxed. On the night that we visited the service was not great for the first part of the evening but then improved when the proprietor's wife arrived to help.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    29
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nothing is better than finding a place to eat when you are traveling where the food is amazing and the people are wonderful. Purna is located off the the canels and serves delicious indian food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My experience with Indian food has been rather limited, but on vacation my friend and I stopped by Purna, as it was near our hotel. Wonderful, friendly service and absolutely delicious, tasty food. Have the cheese nan to start!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Cuba
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“India in "De 9 Straatjes"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I ate in this restaurant last summer. The location is very special: the famous 9 streets of Amsterdam. I really love Indian food, the flavor and the essence.
I had an awesome curry , the bread is very tasty.
Unfortunately, the service wasn't so accurate anyway I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
256 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This establishment feels like home, thanks to the careful work of the staff. The palak paneer wasn't the best ever, but it was good enough considering the ambiance and other dishes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purna Indian Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Purna Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purna Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.