We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere and great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purna Indian Restaurant

Purna Indian Restaurant
Hartenstraat 29, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Ranked #486 of 2,322 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: telephone: 020-623-67-72
Greenwich, London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Food was very good - great King Prawn Madras and really delicious nan - and the atmosphere was nice and relaxed. On the night that we visited the service was not great for the first part of the evening but then improved when the proprietor's wife arrived to help.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nothing is better than finding a place to eat when you are traveling where the food is amazing and the people are wonderful. Purna is located off the the canels and serves delicious indian food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My experience with Indian food has been rather limited, but on vacation my friend and I stopped by Purna, as it was near our hotel. Wonderful, friendly service and absolutely delicious, tasty food. Have the cheese nan to start!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Cuba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“India in "De 9 Straatjes"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I ate in this restaurant last summer. The location is very special: the famous 9 streets of Amsterdam. I really love Indian food, the flavor and the essence.
I had an awesome curry , the bread is very tasty.
Unfortunately, the service wasn't so accurate anyway I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This establishment feels like home, thanks to the careful work of the staff. The palak paneer wasn't the best ever, but it was good enough considering the ambiance and other dishes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purna Indian Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Purna Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purna Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;