We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MNQUE Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MNQUE Bed & Breakfast
Spuistraat 297b, 1012 VS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€128 off room rate
Ranked #104 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here recently and it was fantastic! Great location, great room (extremely comfy bed) and Monique was great, highly recommend it. This was my fifth time in Amsterdam and I usually stay in hotels, I won't be doing that again, will definitely stay here for future visits.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique d, Eigenaar at MNQUE Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
vancouver bc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The location is great, loved the neighbourhood, but felt the value was not there for the room. Very tight stairs, very little light in the room. Could definitely have used more wattage as we couldn't even read. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique d, Eigenaar at MNQUE Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Linda,

Thank you for your review! I am so sorry you did not like my place.

My home has steap stairs indeed, which I know now that I need to inform my new guests about before they book. Furthermore I changed the lights in my home, so everyone can read now.

Warm regards,

Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We are from the U.S. and found MNQUE Bed & Breakfast through Airbnb.com and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Amsterdam. We stayed in the studio apartment on the second floor and it was just perfect-charming, clean, bright, amazing bed, great location, and a very friendly and helpful host. The stairs going up are a bit steep but after the first climb you get used to it!

Everything you need is provided-TV, free wifi, small bathroom and kitchen area, wardrobe, table, etc. Monique also supplies several Amsterdam guide books and suggestions of her favorite places to visit in the area and beyond. This location is walking distance to all the main sites in Amsterdam and the 1, 2, and 5 trams stop right around the corner, it doesn't get much easier.

Oh, and did I mention the bed? Yes...I did...but I'm going to mention it again. It is a Tempurpedic and it is possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on-and my fiancé with back issues agrees!

If we returned to Amsterdam I would stay at Mnque Bed & Breakfast again in a heartbeat and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Monique is the best!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique d, Eigenaar at MNQUE Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lnd
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Brilliant location to stay in Amsterdam, right in the centre, opposite apparently one on the best pubs in town. Room was very clean, spacious (had a room on the first floor), big bed! There was a lot of information on what to see etc. the only thing that was missing was a hair dryier which was supposed to be there. Would ba handy on cold day in Dec. there is a lot of breakfast places around so don't go for a b&b, go and explore the town.
Staircase is VERY steep, so large suitcase not recommended;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

my fiancee and I were here at mnuqe for the first time (its not the first time in amsterdam tho), monique was very nice and friendly and showed us the room with patient even tho we arrived late at night.
the room was on the 2th floor, and its hard to carry our suitcase but its only for one time the stairs is not that big deal without the suitcases. our room was just perfect! dreamy bad, espresso machine, fridge, and a full equipped kitchen!! the bathroom was large and all the room was very modern and stylish....
WERE can you find all this in a hotel??? you just CAN'T! its just feel like you have your own apartment in amsterdam because monique has her own apartment on the top floor, she was there for us only when we needed her, and the rest of the time she gave us our privacy like a nice neighbor.
we love amsterdam and we surly come back and visit monique!!!

thank you monique for a lovely stay.
erez jerom and adi
5.10.2011

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My fiancee and I just spent a holiday weekend in Amsterdam and booked a room at Monique's B&B through AirBnb. It was our first time using AirBnb but Monique was very communicative over email after we booked with her, answered all of our questions and made herself very available the first day we were there to make sure we got settled nicely. She had guidebooks of the city, a couple of the good local attraction pamphlets (check out the boat tour, great start to a trip and only about an hour, do it at dusk.)

Her flat is dead in the middle of where you want to be, without being on Dam Square with all the hustle and tourists. It's also across the street from what we thought was the best coffeeshop in Amsterdam, Tweede Kamer. Around the corner was an awesome Indonesian noodle place that was quick and delicious for refueling meals during partying/touristing.

Monique had two sets of keys (which was great) and the bed was definitely a Tempur-pedic which I had never slept on before and was supremely comfortable. I'm looking forward to booking with Monique again in the spring/summer as its my new favorite city (knocking out Reykjavic).

Room Tip: There are two rooms it would seem, both are set up the same way and are very modern with old world c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This place is just ideally located! It's in the very center of Amsterdam but yet in an authentic and atmospheric street, full of cool places (like two famous squats), restaurants and right in front of one of the prettiest squares in the city.
We got a key with pendant Dutch shoes :) from the friendliest host Monique and all the necessary information on the room (there are more than enough facilities in the room to cook yourself if you need). The room itself is bright and spacious, pleasantly decorated, with typical large windows, that is the best thing about Amsterdam. Another peculiarity is extremely narrow stairs that for us was a funny attraction).
Regarding the breakfast, we didn't have it, though there are plenty of coffee-rooms around.
Amsterdam is one of the best places for a holiday as such, but staying at MNQUE made it absolute rapture!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MNQUE Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MNQUE Bed & Breakfast

Address: Spuistraat 297b, 1012 VS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special price for January and February!!This is one of two studios I am renting out in the same building. If you are looking for a place for four people this could also be ideal! This studio is located on the second floor of the building and right in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. Just around the corner of the lively part of Amsterdam. Nearby everything in town: museums, shops, clubs, bars and restaurants. Public transport is really around the corner. The central station is 15 minutes walking distance and by tram it will only take you 5 minutes (tram 1, 2 and 5). The famous/oldest café in Amsterdam is right in front.The studio is a comfortable place to stay. The beds are heavenly, as you can see in my reviews.What's in the private studio?: • Comfortable double bed • Kitchenette with fridge, tea cooker, Nespresso \ machine • Private shower and toilet • Windows are double, so almost no noise from outside • Free WIFI • Free use of washing machine and dryerOn walking distance of: • The Central Station • The Van Gogh Museum • The Anne Frank House • The Rijksmuseum • The Stedelijk museum • The Hermitage • The Leidseplein • The Rembrandts Plein • The shopping streets: Kalverstraat, Leidsestraat or the “Negen Straatjes” • etc. etc.etc.Breakfast can be served upon request for €15 per person per day.USP: Great location, beautiful building, great bed, clean room and a host that does everything in her power to let her guests leave satisfied and xperience a stay in Amsterdam which is above expectations ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MNQUE Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added MNQUE Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list