We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George W. P. A

George W. P. A
Willemsparkweg 74 | 1071 HK, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 47 02 530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,782 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Utrecht, Holland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good food in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Except for a kind of rough start when we came in, George did not disappoint. The food is very good and we had a nice wine. The bottles of water are in the table and so not cooled. If you want to have chilled water, ask for it! I would record this place for sure for a nice dinner. Is always crowded to reserve your seat

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    20
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good by George”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A bustling, open 7 days a week bistro with deli attached, popular with the
local literati and glitterati. It is out of the centre of town
The menu is extensive and the food fresh, well prepared and presented,
by the chef/owner and his small team.
The wine list is varied and reasonably priced.
Service is attentive without being overbearing
Overall this is well worth a visit

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Lousy Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I strolled here for lunch one day during our stay. Though the food was good (but highly overpriced for what they served - two tiny salads), the service was atrocious! Extremely slow and nerving.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Brunch Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Setting of the restaurant is great and very close to Vondelpark. They have fantastic coffees and one of the better egg scrambles I have had (tough to point to the best eggs but trust me...they are).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you want to have brunch in posh Amsterdam and stare at people then yes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Overall Not a cheap place (brunch for two 30euros minimum), some dishes are good but service has got still a long way to go. If you're there to see and to be seen or at least get a taste of richest neighbourhood of Amsterdam be my guest :) but you could as well do without

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George W. P. A also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to George W. P. A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George W. P. A, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.