We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy waiter, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krua Thai Classic Restaurant

Krua Thai Classic Restaurant
22 Staalstraat, 1011 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020-6229533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Crazy waiter, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We managed to get a last minute booking on a Saturday, which was lucky as it was a very busy restaurant. The head waiter was completely mad, and a wasn't sure about him feeding as way of a demonstration how to eat our first appetiser. The food was good, in particular the beef curry was very good. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    39
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the upsell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

It's a good restaurant in a central location. The ambiance isn't upmarket by any means but the food is good and the service is attentive. What did irritate me slightly was the upsell disguised as 'wouldn't you be interested in this ethnic addition?'. In our case it was betel leaves with odd spices which dutifully appeared (along with the strange additions to the thai mangoes) on the bill. The nett effect was a slightly expensive meal.
I'd go again, the food is good quality. But be careful of goping off-menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Best Thai outside of Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I visited here during a trade show with coleagues. The restaurant is small and does not look like much. The service and ambience is excellent. The owner/head chef comes and says hello and also jokes with you. We asked them to serve us a mixed menu ranging from curries to fried shrimp and other rice dishes. What was the most excellent experience was the chef who made a small wrap made out of a leaf (of something that I dont know what it was) with peanuts, chili, and a special sauce that he fed you directly in your mouth with his own hands. A little weird but the taste was simply unbelievable. Best Thai food I have had outside Thailand and I have eaten in a few restaurants, as you can tell from my other reviews.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is our favourite thai restaurant ever!! We recently returned to Amsterdam after a couple of years and this was on the top of our list for food. The food was as good as ever the best service you'll get anywhere. They will make you feel welcome, come and chat to you recommend food it's perfect. In the summer they have one table for two outside which is a wonderful and romantic setting. I can't give this place too much praise!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goirle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent Thai food on a beautiful location and very kindly served”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This restaurant is located at no more than 200 meters from the city hall/opera building. We enjoyed a beautiful meal there. The staff advised us very well on Thai specialties. The ambience is not super luxury but very agreeable. The price performance ratio is very high!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Thai Classic Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Krua Thai Classic Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krua Thai Classic Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.