We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, shame about the upsell” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krua Thai Classic Restaurant

Krua Thai Classic Restaurant
22 Staalstraat, 1011 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020-6229533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 2,330 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the upsell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

It's a good restaurant in a central location. The ambiance isn't upmarket by any means but the food is good and the service is attentive. What did irritate me slightly was the upsell disguised as 'wouldn't you be interested in this ethnic addition?'. In our case it was betel leaves with odd spices which dutifully appeared (along with the strange additions to the thai mangoes) on the bill. The nett effect was a slightly expensive meal.
I'd go again, the food is good quality. But be careful of goping off-menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    35
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Best Thai outside of Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I visited here during a trade show with coleagues. The restaurant is small and does not look like much. The service and ambience is excellent. The owner/head chef comes and says hello and also jokes with you. We asked them to serve us a mixed menu ranging from curries to fried shrimp and other rice dishes. What was the most excellent experience was the chef who made a small wrap made out of a leaf (of something that I dont know what it was) with peanuts, chili, and a special sauce that he fed you directly in your mouth with his own hands. A little weird but the taste was simply unbelievable. Best Thai food I have had outside Thailand and I have eaten in a few restaurants, as you can tell from my other reviews.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is our favourite thai restaurant ever!! We recently returned to Amsterdam after a couple of years and this was on the top of our list for food. The food was as good as ever the best service you'll get anywhere. They will make you feel welcome, come and chat to you recommend food it's perfect. In the summer they have one table for two outside which is a wonderful and romantic setting. I can't give this place too much praise!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goirle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“excellent Thai food on a beautiful location and very kindly served”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This restaurant is located at no more than 200 meters from the city hall/opera building. We enjoyed a beautiful meal there. The staff advised us very well on Thai specialties. The ambience is not super luxury but very agreeable. The price performance ratio is very high!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely evening with good Thai food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

On a quest for a Thai restaurant in Amsterdam without all the tourists. Good food, good environment, good service. Taste the Thai spices and hospitality! We loved it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Thai Classic Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Krua Thai Classic Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krua Thai Classic Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.