We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai in Amsterdam? If here, then yes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krua Thai Classic Restaurant

Krua Thai Classic Restaurant
22 Staalstraat, 1011 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020-6229533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 2,401 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Thai in Amsterdam? If here, then yes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We would normally not have availed ourselves of Thai food in the Netherlands, mostly on account of how readily available it is back in the States. However, we were looking for something that was not bitterballen and entered here on a lark. This joint offers a kind of Thai cooking that we do not apparently have to much of in New York, and that coupled with warm and welcoming service (including the garrulous and avuncular maitre'd) make this a new favorite for us in Amsterdam. The lettuce wraps, the trademark second course, are dynamic and spicy, not to be missed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    38
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service, small cozy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Have been here twice recently. Once with a group of 6 and then with a work colleague. Both times the service and food were excellent. The restaurant is along a narrow street and has a small downstairs and a small upstairs. The food was excellent - some of the bext Thai food I have had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

You need to reserve in advance to get a table in this little cosy and unique restaurant. Not quit cheap, but worth every cent. Have fun and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm County, Sweden
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Small family style with great ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I ws taken here by a business friend and thoroughly enjoyed every minute - though I ate to much. Having read some of the other reviews I can only concur - it is a very nice restaurant. Only reason it does not get a 5 is because it is more gourmand than gourmet. It lacks the true "finesse."

Be sure to reserve before.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I went with a friend yesterday having dinner in this thai restaurant in the center of Amsterdam,
The menu is interesting and we chose the complete menu at Eur 29,50.
Very typical and originla thai food with fantastic taste, prices are not cheap but quality is excellent,
If you like thai food go there, to be recommended !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Thai Classic Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Krua Thai Classic Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krua Thai Classic Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.