We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would you stay ANYWHERE else?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Mauro Mansion
Save Saved
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wading River, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Why would you stay ANYWHERE else?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

LOVED this place!!Terrific location! My husband and I love to travel and wanted to spend the holidays in Amsterdam. We could not have been more pleased with Mauro Mansion. When we arrived, Berry(the wonderful owner) had stocked up on breakfast food to meet my husband's strict dietary restrictions. (I had emailed him prior regarding all his allergies.) He also researched various restaurants that we LOVED and catered to his diet. We couldn't believe for the value for the affordable rate. We had an AMAZING view of a canal. Our room rocked! Very romantic! (room 21) It was decorated BEAUTIFULLY! Our bed was incredibly comfortable (perfect after a busy day out). The heated floor tiles in the bathroom was my husband's favorite, as well as the spacious room. It was so clean,you could literally have eaten off the floors. Lastly, we LOVED our central location, which made traveling in the quaint city very easy. We can't wait to go back to Mauro... hopefully in the summer!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    78
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
426
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bebington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

I can only agree with all the previous comments about this small boutique hotel. In an excellent location, close to Centraal Station, Dam Square etc. with comfortable quirky rooms, some of which overlook the canal, this place is a real home from home. Breakfasts were great, the coffee was fantastic and the daily surprise was a bonus. A complimentary mini bar in the room with coke, beer and juice and an honesty bar on the ground floor with very reasonably priced wine and snacks, as well as coffee to go. But what makes this place so special are the people who own and run it; Berry and Marcel are wonderful hosts who are happy to provide recommendations about restaurants, places to visit etc. but without being at all intrusive. I would definitely stay here on my next visit to Amsterdam and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Great stay at Mauro Mansion. Rooms, service, breakfast are all superb and the location is perfect. Great recommendations from Berry for nearby restaurants including Eat Me which was excellent for dinner. Won't stay anywhere else from now on when back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Friendly arrival after easy booking online. I had messed up my booking but Berry ( co owner) sorted it out. A lovely, individual hotel not far from Central station. Beautifully decorated , felt like being home from home, very helpful- kept the room next whole day time for a business meeting. Will definitely stay there if and when I return to Amsterdam.

Breakfast available, not other meals but 100s of restaurants nearby.

They also have travel and tourist cards for sale in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Berry and Marcel were wonderful. My wife and I spent the first two days of our Honeymoon in Amsterdam. Berry and Marcel had a canal view room ready as we had reserved. The service was impeccable, breakfast delicious and ambiance was the best I have ever had.

The location to the train station is great. Getting around the city from this location was no issue at all.

I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

We arrived at 1 in the afternoon berry & marcel were really welcoming & helped us with finding our way around Amsterdam. Our room was really clean and no noises from the city, we had the jacuzzi bath which was amazing but pretty loud so i was a little worried about disturbing the other guests. The breakfast is really nice & lots of choice. The location is perfect, 5 min walk from dam square and central station and 2 min to the red light district. Only thing i would say, it looks like a house so we walked straight past it but just look at the street numbers! We would like to thank you Berry and Marcel for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

I took my boyfriend to amsterdam for his birthday and struggled initially to find a hotel that ticked all the boxes. After reading such great reviews on tripadvisor i decided to book at mauro mansion for 2 nights. All i can say is that the recommendations were not wrong!! The hotel itself is right next to central station and dam square. We arrived early and they took our bags, offered us coffee and use of the restroom and gave us a map to get our bearings. The room was great with nice little quirky features and a complimentary mini bar! The fridge in the room was a great size so we went to the supermarket and bought cheese and wine.The bed was very comfortable and a had two seperate duvets which is a dream come true for me as my partner hogs it all usually!! The bathroom was very clean and i fell in love with the bath tub, in a two night stay i had 3 baths! The breakfast was great and the couple who run the hotel were so attentive bringing a different treat to your table each morning (fruit salad and small dutch pancakes).

I must say though the best part about this hotel is the service! Marcel & Berry clearly love their hotel and have built it up from nothing. The little things really made our stay ie. 50% off vouchers for the museum we were visiting that day or the amazing coffee to go. On our last day we had a late flight so we were able to have a later check out and use the living area in the hotel throughout the day. Handy as it was rather cold outside.

All i can say is that i highly reccomend this hotel and i will most certainly stay again. I too work in a boutique hotel in Edinburgh so i know that these little things are not a standard for most hotels and was impressed with how attentive and hard working the owners are.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.