We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with quality and taste” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
€5,00 full breakfast
Ranked #3 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful hotel with quality and taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed at Mauro Mansion last weekend and we loved it! Such nice people and the hotel has been decorated with wonderful taste and style. Our breakfast were made with love: from the just baked bread to the natural yogurt.
We are very happy to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to have a great break in Amsterdam.

Carolina & Paul

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    81
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
445
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

For our Japanese visitors, Mauro is very interesting hotel. Thanks Berry and Marcel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We had a blast staying here in Amsterdam. Berry and Marcel were very hospitable and helpful. The helped us reserve a private canal tour which was one of the highlights of our stay. The rooms are all unique and have a fresh modern style. The location is excellent- it's in a great area and right near the train station. We will definitely return here when we come back to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrucken, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Mauro Mansion seems just perfect for any kind of stay in Amsterdam!

I combined a business trip with leisure, staying a few extra days after a large conference/meeting, and was completely happy with this place. Mauro just has it all: Only a few minutes from central station yet located on a quiet canal, a beautiful old house newly renovated with great care and great taste, this hotel is a little gem offering all the comfort you could wish for (including free, perfectly reliable high speed internet).
Have any questions about restaurants in walking distance, things to do, public transportation, parking? The owners are always happy to help.
Oh, and I loved the little suprises that are freshly prepared for the guests in the mornings! (Make sure you stay long enough - it would be a pity to miss the mini pancakes with fresh strawberries for breakfast! :-)

What can I say... Mauro Mansion is a truly great alternative to the usual business hotels, and I will definately return during my next visit to Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I was looking for a bed and breakfast in the Amsterdam area close to the train to get to Haarlem and found Mauro Mansion. The reviews were excellent and I loved that the place was recently renovated plus it helped their website has a very nice tongue in cheek sense of humor.

Everything they say is true, this place is very clean, safe and you're very well taken care of by Berry and Marcel. It's about a block away from the Red Light District so it's nice and quiet, but close enough for you to have a blast.

They also made excellent recommendations for dining and how to get around. I dined at Restaurant Lastage across the canal. Both Mauro and Lastage go together like Wine and Cheese, I recommend them both!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Lovely welcome from the hosts Marcel and Berry who were very attentive throughout our stay. They helped us to orientate ourselves on arrival and gave us some tips on places to go for food which were excellent but which we wouldn't have discovered ourselves.
The overall relaxed atmosphere of the hotel was just right. The mini bar has snacks on arrival and you can then top up as required during your stay. Breakfast is self-serve and as the hotel describes is based on quality not quantity. I would concur. All of the items are of a very high standard, there is enough variety and we left each morning very satisfied.
We had room 34 which was on the top floor because his nibs wanted a bath. This room has a large jacuzzi bath which was very nice. I loved the quirky features of the room, the beams and ladder although what the ceiling height metal cage is about we forgot to establish!
Mauro is conveniently located just off the red light district, don't be put off by thinking it is too close, it's not. It's also handily close to the train station again without being too close.
Being right in town means that if you are visiting for a few days you can walk everywhere. We loved that we could pop back to the hotel easily by foot for a relax pre-evening.
Having worked in a number of hotels in my teens I do make for a picky hotel guest. Mauro was a delight to stay in for the reasons described above and the nice touches like the surprise breakfast item each morning: mini pancakes one day, omelettes, the next, and then fresh pineapple. Mauro really had the values of an independent hotel that we were seeking with lots of personal touches.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Mauro Mansion is in a perfect location for exploring the old town of Amsterdam, it is in a quite street facing a canal; staff are kind, helpful and very attentive to details. The building and the interior have been recently renovated.so everything is brand new; the room we stayed in was spacious and with all comforts! Strongly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.