We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, comfortable, quirky, and lots of personal touches - we love!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
For bookings click here
Ranked #3 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Modern, comfortable, quirky, and lots of personal touches - we love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Lovely welcome from the hosts Marcel and Berry who were very attentive throughout our stay. They helped us to orientate ourselves on arrival and gave us some tips on places to go for food which were excellent but which we wouldn't have discovered ourselves.
The overall relaxed atmosphere of the hotel was just right. The mini bar has snacks on arrival and you can then top up as required during your stay. Breakfast is self-serve and as the hotel describes is based on quality not quantity. I would concur. All of the items are of a very high standard, there is enough variety and we left each morning very satisfied.
We had room 34 which was on the top floor because his nibs wanted a bath. This room has a large jacuzzi bath which was very nice. I loved the quirky features of the room, the beams and ladder although what the ceiling height metal cage is about we forgot to establish!
Mauro is conveniently located just off the red light district, don't be put off by thinking it is too close, it's not. It's also handily close to the train station again without being too close.
Being right in town means that if you are visiting for a few days you can walk everywhere. We loved that we could pop back to the hotel easily by foot for a relax pre-evening.
Having worked in a number of hotels in my teens I do make for a picky hotel guest. Mauro was a delight to stay in for the reasons described above and the nice touches like the surprise breakfast item each morning: mini pancakes one day, omelettes, the next, and then fresh pineapple. Mauro really had the values of an independent hotel that we were seeking with lots of personal touches.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    92
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
506
39
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Mauro Mansion is in a perfect location for exploring the old town of Amsterdam, it is in a quite street facing a canal; staff are kind, helpful and very attentive to details. The building and the interior have been recently renovated.so everything is brand new; the room we stayed in was spacious and with all comforts! Strongly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Great location, on quiet street, overlooking a canal. Nicely decorated theme rooms and Marcel and Berry are incredible hosts, very accommodating and helpful. Enjoyed the morning breakfast provided with fresh breads, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt and a special treat each morning. Bike rentals are directly across the canal. This is the best way of getting around town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

this beautiful old building is walking distance from centraal station, the red light district (without being too near the noise of either) and right on a canal. the owners were lovely and helpful, breakfasts were yummy, rooms full of character with funky/chic decor. Beds could have been comfier, but overall great value in Amsterdam and i plan to return
thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

This traditional Amsterdam townhouse has been expertly converted into a boutique-y hotel. It has a fresh and minimalist design, without tipping into stark/uber-cool territory, and is friendly and welcoming. Ours was a comfortable, quiet (thick, sturdy walls), clean and well-equipped room with a pretty roomy bathroom too (lovely big bath and strong shower). The stairs are steep, but this is part of the charm of the local architectural style. Informative, knowledgeable and approachable young hosts made ours a very enjoyable 2 night stay. Wholesome and healthy breakfast, served at a relaxed hour, was just what we needed for a long day's site-seeing. DVDs in lobby can be borrowed (DVD player in room) and there is also an honesty bar available with a good selection of wines and drinks. Coffee/tea 'to go' also provided during daytime - nice touch!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Our stay at Mauro Mansion was perfect. Hosts Berry and Marcel, were both more than helpful and made our vacation in Amsterdam as pleasant as possible. Especially the breakfasts were marvellous, each day some surprise. Also they kept in mind to make our son's visit memorable - little details as small Holland supporters attributes were nice thoughts and made him feel special. That kind of reception and personal contact with guests are possible only then, when you have small number of rooms in hotel and the hosts are nice persons. Mauro Mansion's house itself with it's history, high ceilings and wooden beams is marvellous. And off-course - the view to canal....
I wish Berry and Marcel all the best.
Indrek from Estonia, 10-15.06.2010

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Where else would you find fresh flowers in your room? Where else would you find fresh squeezed orange juice for breakfast in the morning?

Marcel and Barry were wonder hosts. This was my first time visiting Amsterdam. Marcel went out of his way to help me orient myself in the city. He even looked up bus schedules and went on-line to book museum tickets for me.

5 minutes walk from the Centraal Station. The room and bathroom were sparkling clean. Bed was comfortable. I appreciated the bed lamp with an integrated i-pod dock.

Missing was an elevator but it shouldn't be a problem unless you travel like Diana Ross on tour.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.