We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful quirky hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Save Saved
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Wonderful quirky hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The many positive reviews about Mauro are not mistaken. From the moment you walk into this 9-room boutique hotel, you're greeted warmly by the proprietors and you know you're in good hands. This hotel is in a very old, historic building with exposed beams but the rooms are very modern and spotless. We had a room on the second floor in the rear; floors are rubberized for quiet. The bathroom was large, with a huge soaker tub and separate shower. Bathroom amenities are very nice. Our room had an LCD TV and video player (a wide assortment of DVDs are available in the lobby area for free); a small safe; a minifridge is stocked with beer, prosecco, soft drinks and snacks for your consumption (for free) on arrival--it's not restocked, but in the lobby area there's an honor bar/fridge with really reasonably priced goodies (bottles of wine are just 10 euros and beers are 2 euros). All rooms have free Internet and there's a computer for your use in the lobby area. The 5-euro breakfast is perhaps the best paid-breakfast deal we've ever encountered. The front of the hotel looks out over a canal and you can ask for one of the rooms with that view. Rooms are elegantly appointed with large, comfortable beds and great artistic details. Location couldn't be better: literally 5 minutes walk from the Centraal station. You can be at the hotel from Schiphol airport in 30 minutes and 5 euros. We arrived at 11 a.m. and our room was not quite ready; we went out for some coffee and by the time we came back the bags had been taken up to the room--a very nice touch. If you want a chain-like hotel, don't stay here. But if you do, you won't forget it like you will a Hilton or Marriott. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    468
    73
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
401
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been to Amsterdam several times; I would now stay nowhere else. Friendly , helpful and attention to detail. Our room good size overlooking canal. Good value breakfast with great bread and leaf tea. My only minor suggestion for improvement - have high quality preserves at breakfast to match the other produce.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragamba
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed here with my Aunt and Uncle. We took the two rooms on the lower floor. We greeted most enthusiastically by Jimmy who offered us tea & coffee on arrival. He let us throw our bags into our rooms, then we sat on the breakfast communal area where we were able to have a fabulous chat about the area and recommendations for dinner.

This boutique hotel has the best toiletries supplied, however the room can be a little stuffy at night. The hotel provides a complimentary mini bar, with juice, soda and Chardonnay.

Breakfast is self service with cold meats, cheese, hot bread, yoghurt, cereal, tea, coffee and juice. Everything you really need to start your day.

The quality and location of the hotel is fabulous for the price. Book early if you can as there are only a small number of rooms.

Thank you to Berry and Marcel for the fabulous little stay. Jimmy thank you so much for the conversation and inside knowledge on places to eat. Your recommendations were Stella. :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booking a hotel in a foreign country on the basis of reviews from Trip Advisor is possibly the best test there is of whether or not the system works. So . . . . . should this hotel really be in the top 5 hotels for Amsterdam. Answer - yes.
It was safe, secure, reasonably priced, clean, comfortable, well furnished, in a nice location, great breakfast, the people running it were very friendly & helpful.
I'd go back there, I'd recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A two minute walk from Centraal....only if you have to wait for the bikes. This exquisite accommodation is located on the only quiet canal in the central area of Amsterdam. All the action is so close, but your street is almost non existent in this fantastically exciting city. The red light district and coffee shops are near, but none of this is where you are. Metro access with Centraal can put you anywhere within minutes, and the option for train service is outstanding. I believe it is one of the best locations you can stay, in the middle of it all, and sleep well at night. The rooms are spacious, the air conditioning works perfectly, the breakfast is great (and very underpriced, 5 Euro), it's a great thing. They even give you what is in the fridge as a welcoming present. I have NEVER been treated so well. Berry and Marcel are simply wonderful. This is a keeper, you will be very pleased.

Room Tip: We had room 31, great views, quiet on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything is to love at Mauro Mansion!
Proximity to Central Station - check.
Very clean, quirky room - check.
Very tasty, free mini-fridge - check.
Little sweet treats on the pillow - check.
Very tasty, healthy breakfast at an amazing 5 euros - check.
Complimentary real tea and coffee - check.
Good quality bathroom products - check.
And the piece de resistance - 20 ruby red roses in our room for our Ruby wedding - check!
Thank you so, so much Berry and Marcel.
Perfect hosts - check!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I went to check in for 4 days in August, we booked one of the ground floor rooms. As it was the middle of summer it was quite hot. When we opened the door to the room, the first thing I noticed was a musky smell and the fact that it was quite hot.

I went to open the window, which would not open as it is sealed shut. I also realised there is no air-conditioning. There is a small vent above the window that doesn't do much for air flow.

As I am a tad claustrophobic this was deal breaker for me and I had to change hotels. Regardless of being claustrophobic I think they need more ventilation in those rooms or at least conditioning.

In saying that, perhaps if you don't mind no ventilation and in winter it may be fine.

I must say, the room was very clean and well presented and the staff were amazingly accommodating and even offered to help find another hotel when I said I could not stay there.

Room Tip: Ground floor, windows sealed shut and no air-con. Not sure about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.