We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip Advisor works” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
€5,00 full breakfast
Ranked #4 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Harleston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor works”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Booking a hotel in a foreign country on the basis of reviews from Trip Advisor is possibly the best test there is of whether or not the system works. So . . . . . should this hotel really be in the top 5 hotels for Amsterdam. Answer - yes.
It was safe, secure, reasonably priced, clean, comfortable, well furnished, in a nice location, great breakfast, the people running it were very friendly & helpful.
I'd go back there, I'd recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    80
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
436
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

A two minute walk from Centraal....only if you have to wait for the bikes. This exquisite accommodation is located on the only quiet canal in the central area of Amsterdam. All the action is so close, but your street is almost non existent in this fantastically exciting city. The red light district and coffee shops are near, but none of this is where you are. Metro access with Centraal can put you anywhere within minutes, and the option for train service is outstanding. I believe it is one of the best locations you can stay, in the middle of it all, and sleep well at night. The rooms are spacious, the air conditioning works perfectly, the breakfast is great (and very underpriced, 5 Euro), it's a great thing. They even give you what is in the fridge as a welcoming present. I have NEVER been treated so well. Berry and Marcel are simply wonderful. This is a keeper, you will be very pleased.

Room Tip: We had room 31, great views, quiet on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Everything is to love at Mauro Mansion!
Proximity to Central Station - check.
Very clean, quirky room - check.
Very tasty, free mini-fridge - check.
Little sweet treats on the pillow - check.
Very tasty, healthy breakfast at an amazing 5 euros - check.
Complimentary real tea and coffee - check.
Good quality bathroom products - check.
And the piece de resistance - 20 ruby red roses in our room for our Ruby wedding - check!
Thank you so, so much Berry and Marcel.
Perfect hosts - check!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My partner and I went to check in for 4 days in August, we booked one of the ground floor rooms. As it was the middle of summer it was quite hot. When we opened the door to the room, the first thing I noticed was a musky smell and the fact that it was quite hot.

I went to open the window, which would not open as it is sealed shut. I also realised there is no air-conditioning. There is a small vent above the window that doesn't do much for air flow.

As I am a tad claustrophobic this was deal breaker for me and I had to change hotels. Regardless of being claustrophobic I think they need more ventilation in those rooms or at least conditioning.

In saying that, perhaps if you don't mind no ventilation and in winter it may be fine.

I must say, the room was very clean and well presented and the staff were amazingly accommodating and even offered to help find another hotel when I said I could not stay there.

Room Tip: Ground floor, windows sealed shut and no air-con. Not sure about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of July 2014. Firstly the location is a 5 min walk from the central station giving tram and bus access to the city. My room was spacious, tastefully decorated, and very clean. The hotel has free wifi and an honesty bar with a wide selection of snacks and drinks for a very reasonable price. The two friendly gentlemen who run the hotel are very generous with their time, and were always keen to help. Everything was easy in this hotel. Also I must add that breakfast was of a fine quality with many different choices. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as it deserves the fine ratings it has on trip advisor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a nice room overlooking the canal which was well appointed and spacious enough. Bathroom had been renovated; toiletries were of good quality. Complimentary Prosecco and beer in the fridge were a lovely touch. Berry and Marcel were friendly and helpful and provided restaurant suggestions and did some bookings on our behalf and provided directions to any place we asked about. Breakfast was "help yourself" for the most part but you could request freshly made fruit salad and scrambled eggs. Coffee machine was available at any time of the day so you could help yourself with take out cups available. Great restaurants in walking distance and Amsterdam Central train station within walking distance. An enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: We happened to get a room overlooking the canal which had a lovely outlook and was surprisingly quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Recently returned from a fantastic 3 night stay at Mauro Mansion. A frequent traveller to Amsterdam having stayed in several 5 star hotels, I'll always stay at Mauro Mansion in future! Really friendly and helpful, beautifully decorated, real attention to detail. Faultless. Loved the breakfast and the honesty bar. Great central but quiet location. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms looked fantastic! Ours was on the top floor but well worth the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.