We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is to love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
For bookings click here
Ranked #3 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything is to love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Everything is to love at Mauro Mansion!
Proximity to Central Station - check.
Very clean, quirky room - check.
Very tasty, free mini-fridge - check.
Little sweet treats on the pillow - check.
Very tasty, healthy breakfast at an amazing 5 euros - check.
Complimentary real tea and coffee - check.
Good quality bathroom products - check.
And the piece de resistance - 20 ruby red roses in our room for our Ruby wedding - check!
Thank you so, so much Berry and Marcel.
Perfect hosts - check!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    98
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
519
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My partner and I went to check in for 4 days in August, we booked one of the ground floor rooms. As it was the middle of summer it was quite hot. When we opened the door to the room, the first thing I noticed was a musky smell and the fact that it was quite hot.

I went to open the window, which would not open as it is sealed shut. I also realised there is no air-conditioning. There is a small vent above the window that doesn't do much for air flow.

As I am a tad claustrophobic this was deal breaker for me and I had to change hotels. Regardless of being claustrophobic I think they need more ventilation in those rooms or at least conditioning.

In saying that, perhaps if you don't mind no ventilation and in winter it may be fine.

I must say, the room was very clean and well presented and the staff were amazingly accommodating and even offered to help find another hotel when I said I could not stay there.

Room Tip: Ground floor, windows sealed shut and no air-con. Not sure about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of July 2014. Firstly the location is a 5 min walk from the central station giving tram and bus access to the city. My room was spacious, tastefully decorated, and very clean. The hotel has free wifi and an honesty bar with a wide selection of snacks and drinks for a very reasonable price. The two friendly gentlemen who run the hotel are very generous with their time, and were always keen to help. Everything was easy in this hotel. Also I must add that breakfast was of a fine quality with many different choices. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as it deserves the fine ratings it has on trip advisor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a nice room overlooking the canal which was well appointed and spacious enough. Bathroom had been renovated; toiletries were of good quality. Complimentary Prosecco and beer in the fridge were a lovely touch. Berry and Marcel were friendly and helpful and provided restaurant suggestions and did some bookings on our behalf and provided directions to any place we asked about. Breakfast was "help yourself" for the most part but you could request freshly made fruit salad and scrambled eggs. Coffee machine was available at any time of the day so you could help yourself with take out cups available. Great restaurants in walking distance and Amsterdam Central train station within walking distance. An enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: We happened to get a room overlooking the canal which had a lovely outlook and was surprisingly quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Recently returned from a fantastic 3 night stay at Mauro Mansion. A frequent traveller to Amsterdam having stayed in several 5 star hotels, I'll always stay at Mauro Mansion in future! Really friendly and helpful, beautifully decorated, real attention to detail. Faultless. Loved the breakfast and the honesty bar. Great central but quiet location. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms looked fantastic! Ours was on the top floor but well worth the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here for a night recently and was very impressed with this small little hotel located very close to the Amsterdam Central. This hotel is also very close to China town and the red light district, but fret not, its very quiet and also safe at night. The room is very big and has a very unique interior. The facilities in the room and bathroom are new and clean. The staircase are very narrow and steps are small and steep, but do not worry, the helpful staffs are always willing and able to help carry heavy luggage upstairs. Wifi connection throughout the hotel is very good. Please book early if you intend to stay here as there are only 9 rooms is this hotel. Overall I had a very pleasant stay would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms with canal view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at Mauro Mansion for 3 nights in June 2014 and had a friendly, safe and pleasant experience. Would stay again. Berry and Marcel were lovely fellows and Berry in particular very supportive when I was pick pocketed at the airport. ( Do be careful of that at the airport, especially people who claim to be helping you onto the train with your luggage).
The breakfast at Mauro mansions was great, a selection of cheeses and meats and warm bread. Scrambled eggs and the usual muesli, cereals and fruit etc were also available.
We had a room over looking the canal which was pleasant and spacious enough, and enjoyed laughing about the remains of a cage from the days when the hotel used to be 'the black tulip ' a house of disrepute.
The B&B is easy to get to from the train station and we found it quiet, not on a noise street and no noisy neighbours , even the fridge was silent tho a low hum from air conditioning as everywhere. It was walkable distance to restaurants.

Room Tip: A room over looking the canal was nice. We were on the first floor, perhaps the ground floor wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.