We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast only €5,00
Ranked #3 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a nice room overlooking the canal which was well appointed and spacious enough. Bathroom had been renovated; toiletries were of good quality. Complimentary Prosecco and beer in the fridge were a lovely touch. Berry and Marcel were friendly and helpful and provided restaurant suggestions and did some bookings on our behalf and provided directions to any place we asked about. Breakfast was "help yourself" for the most part but you could request freshly made fruit salad and scrambled eggs. Coffee machine was available at any time of the day so you could help yourself with take out cups available. Great restaurants in walking distance and Amsterdam Central train station within walking distance. An enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: We happened to get a room overlooking the canal which had a lovely outlook and was surprisingly quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    104
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
546
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Recently returned from a fantastic 3 night stay at Mauro Mansion. A frequent traveller to Amsterdam having stayed in several 5 star hotels, I'll always stay at Mauro Mansion in future! Really friendly and helpful, beautifully decorated, real attention to detail. Faultless. Loved the breakfast and the honesty bar. Great central but quiet location. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms looked fantastic! Ours was on the top floor but well worth the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here for a night recently and was very impressed with this small little hotel located very close to the Amsterdam Central. This hotel is also very close to China town and the red light district, but fret not, its very quiet and also safe at night. The room is very big and has a very unique interior. The facilities in the room and bathroom are new and clean. The staircase are very narrow and steps are small and steep, but do not worry, the helpful staffs are always willing and able to help carry heavy luggage upstairs. Wifi connection throughout the hotel is very good. Please book early if you intend to stay here as there are only 9 rooms is this hotel. Overall I had a very pleasant stay would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms with canal view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at Mauro Mansion for 3 nights in June 2014 and had a friendly, safe and pleasant experience. Would stay again. Berry and Marcel were lovely fellows and Berry in particular very supportive when I was pick pocketed at the airport. ( Do be careful of that at the airport, especially people who claim to be helping you onto the train with your luggage).
The breakfast at Mauro mansions was great, a selection of cheeses and meats and warm bread. Scrambled eggs and the usual muesli, cereals and fruit etc were also available.
We had a room over looking the canal which was pleasant and spacious enough, and enjoyed laughing about the remains of a cage from the days when the hotel used to be 'the black tulip ' a house of disrepute.
The B&B is easy to get to from the train station and we found it quiet, not on a noise street and no noisy neighbours , even the fridge was silent tho a low hum from air conditioning as everywhere. It was walkable distance to restaurants.

Room Tip: A room over looking the canal was nice. We were on the first floor, perhaps the ground floor wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here sadly for only one night. It was a quick trip to Amsterdam from Brussels and I was looking for accommodation located close to the Station. Location of Mauro was perfect. Both for ease of access to the station and to all of the delights associated with the old town of Amsterdam.

Your hosts are wonderful land clearly understand the meaning of "hospitality". I look forward to retuning to Mauro again but this time for a much longer period.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Mauso Mansion is a great boutique hotel, situated at he center of Amsterdam. You can easly go wherever you want from the hotel. Owners are great people. We loved them. Rooms are well worth to stay, they are beautiful.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the street. There is a canal in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had three nights in Mauro Mansion in October 2013. I had a late arrival due to a storm so I appreciated that they waited for me to check in.

I felt very welcome straight from the beginning. Breakfast was wonderful and convenient in a way. The bar was clever, and hopefully it'll stay like that. Hotel itself is on a quiet street, but close to tram stops so it's easy to get anywhere you need to.

If I ever come back to Amsterdam, I'll definitely check Mauro Mansion 1st.

Room Tip: Aim at top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#7 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,817 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.