We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Full breakfast for €7,50
Ranked #2 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel based on reviews I read on Trip Advisor. Everything was perfect. Berry was wonderful and made fresh fruit salad, incredible thin pancakes and eggs every morning for us. Plus all the juices, cheeses and cold cuts and fresh breads. We walked to everything, even our Viking cruise ship after 6 fun days and nights in Amsterdam. We were there for Kings day which was so much fun and the tulip park was incredible! Very quiet and safe area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 423Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We had four days in Amsterdam and decided to give this hotel a try based on Trip Advisor ratings we were not disappointed. This amazing little hotel has location, wonderful staff and awesome rooms. Ours featured zebras and a large space. Everything was within walking distance and I would absolutely go back again. To the owners thank for having such a wonderful establishment.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jens L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Mauro Mansion is a delightful place-atmosphere, professional service, charm and location/location! We loved it.
Berry & Marcel are ever-helpful and conscious of guests' needs. We could not fault their service and helpfulness.
The hotel is lovely. We stayed in Room 31 overlooking the canal. The room was large and quirky without sacrificing comfort for quirkiness! It was beautifully clean and had all we needed. The toiletries provided were high-end and the room had an iPod dock and good wifi.
The breakfast provided is just such good value for the 5 euro price - quality products, a top- end coffee machine and quality teas.
I'd recommend Mauro Mansion in a flash to all and sundry. Check it out- its fun and fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJB_inMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Mauro Mansion made our trip to Amsterdam! This place is a real gem. If you contemplating coming to Amsterdam you should really book to stay at Mauro. As a conservative couple we were really apprehensive about booking when you look at the pictures it's exceptional quirky, however turns out it was the best thing we did! Please don't judge Mauro off the pictures.

Berry & Marcel were tip top hosts, we arrived early doors and were able to enjoy a really healthy yet varied breakfast that is served till 11am. Our room was number 33 in the attic the stairs are steep but it's not an issue. We came in to a very spacious and extremely clean room filled with lots of modern gadgets and vintage furniture. The room service has been excellent fresh towels and gorgeous ritual products re stocked daily I think rituals are like the uks version of Molton brown!! We had a huge jacuzzi bath and wet room with two showers. Amazing stocked mini bar complete with prosecco, orange juice, water, beers, pop all FREE on behalf of the hosts. Also there is a 24/7coffee bar. Again all FREE!! The bed is so comfy and chilling very late night with a DVD from mauros collection has been bliss.

Amsterdam it's self is so dirty they have real bad litter issues here, it's been a huge eye opener to what happens in other country's, it's so open and relaxed here. We don't think we will return to Amsterdam it just wasn't us but if we were to, no doubt we would come right back to Mauro Mansion! The location is a street off the red light district but it's so quiet here and is right around the corner from the central station it is in such a. Great location to access everything

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed here with my wife for a long weekend we planned. As luck would have it we arrived on Kings Day weekend. The Staff are really friendly and have no problem helping you out with information on whatever you need.

The Rooms was great and the house itself was done up really well with a great eye for detail. It is a traditional old house so the roof is high up. Each room seems to have its own little theme and the bathroom was really clean and appealing on the eye. We got a canal view room which was great.

The breakfast was nice with a selection of nice meats/cheeses and an option of eggs, pancakes, fruit salad as well as breads, juices etc.

It is just a 5 min walk from the train station so it is ideal if your coming in by train and also it is situated along side one of the canals. It is just on the outer edge of the red light district and a walkable distance to all the sights you'll want to see.

We where even provided with a lend of Orange items to wear on Kings day (Hats etc).
Do Book in advance though as we where going to stay an extra night but there was no room available so we just stayed 2 nights.

Will be staying here for sure the next time we visit Amsterdam (if its not booked out).

Ian

Room Tip: Ask for a Canal Room if there is one available for the view (if you don't mind paying a few euro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tankosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Can't say enough positives about this place. The owners are so wonderful, rooms are immaculate, and breakfast fabulous! They even did my laundry for me! Felt very safe here and never had a problem leaving belongings in the room. Great location as well. Close to train station and walking distance to many sites.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed over Easter 2014 at Mauros Mansion. Ive been in Amsterdam many Times, and I know how Bad/Ripoff Amsterdam Hotels usually are. Maruos Mansions offers everything you need in a perfect Place to an affordable price. Even if the hosts looked a little bit Sad (everybody has some bad days right?) they were friendly and loved to help however the could. For me truly the best Hotel in Amsterdam !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiss_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,015 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,759 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,997 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing