We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly an unique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Truly an unique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed over Easter 2014 at Mauros Mansion. Ive been in Amsterdam many Times, and I know how Bad/Ripoff Amsterdam Hotels usually are. Maruos Mansions offers everything you need in a perfect Place to an affordable price. Even if the hosts looked a little bit Sad (everybody has some bad days right?) they were friendly and loved to help however the could. For me truly the best Hotel in Amsterdam !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    77
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
420
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Just got home from a five night stay and The Mauro Mansion. My husband and I loved it.
The inn-keepers are so welcoming. The rooms are immaculate the breakfast is wonderful and the location is perfect! When we left we felt as if we were leaving family. Do not hesitate to book this hotel you will not be sorry.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor -41 stairs up. If you have trouble with steps stay on the first or seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I recently stayed at Mauro Mansion for three nights, during a quick visit to Amsterdam. The hotel is in a wonderful location, close to the busy main streets of the city, but tranquil and quiet at night. The breakfast was fantastic, with beautiful quality ingredients including the best bread I've had in ages. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is maybe my favorite hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. We spent three nights in late March on the ground floor, and had an amazing experience. The location is beautiful! You are in the middle of everything overlooking a canal, but you feel like you are in a little slice of peace! I cannot say enough about the owners either! They are so helpful both before arrival with email questions and upon arrival and departure. The breakfast is spectacular as well. I will absolutely stay here again. This is a very small hotel though, so book in advance!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Quirky room on top floor at back with "Sweeney Todd" Barber's chair.
Characterful comfortable room with excellent bathroom including really good powerful shower and nice warm underfloor heating.
Breakfast very fresh with good juices and selection of breads. Lovely pancakes, scrambled eggs and fruit salad available too cooked by Berry. Everything low-key and relaxed but great attention to detail.
Great free mini-bar and "honesty bar' should you require a snack or coffee at any time.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We liked the back room in the attic, remarkably quiet and away from any noises of the city, we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Not much I can say about this place that hasn't been said so many times before, but I just have to agree with everyone else's comments. We recently spent 4 nights at Mauro to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Lovely large & quiet room on the 2nd floor with swing chair and view across the canal (room 31). Berry & Marcel were both very friendly and approachable and couldn't have been more helpful, particularly when suggesting (and booking) a restaurant for our anniversary meal, to say nothing of the bottle of champagne they left us in our fridge on the day ! Location was great, and we were able to walk everywhere from the hotel, taking advantage of the early spring sunshine. This was a wonderful place to stay for our first visit to Amsterdam, and the individual style of the place just added to the experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

A really relaxing place to stay. Amazingly convenient - (when you come out of the station turn left, follow the station building as far as you can, cross over the water and the main road, and there you are!)
Very quiet room, with comfy bed and lovely bathroom with heated floor, powerful shower, and spa bath.
Breakfast was very relaxed - you help yourself from the fridge for meat and cheese, and there are choice of 3 cereals and lovely bread. The freshly cooked egg must have been 3 eggs. And only 5 euros each.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.