We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Full breakfast only €5,00
Ranked #3 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

A really relaxing place to stay. Amazingly convenient - (when you come out of the station turn left, follow the station building as far as you can, cross over the water and the main road, and there you are!)
Very quiet room, with comfy bed and lovely bathroom with heated floor, powerful shower, and spa bath.
Breakfast was very relaxed - you help yourself from the fridge for meat and cheese, and there are choice of 3 cereals and lovely bread. The freshly cooked egg must have been 3 eggs. And only 5 euros each.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    82
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
453
35
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This place was a real treat. I was a little skeptical at first, as the red light district is only a 10min walk from the Mansion but it wasn't a deterrence at all.
The location is absolutely perfect if you are travelling in by train. However you would need a map to know the quickest route to get here from the station as it's only a 5min walk.
For those checking in before 9am, you would need to make sure that you notify reception of your early arrival.
I was greeted by a very nice host who spoke perfect english (a lot better than mine), and didn't waste any time inundating me with maps, emergency phone numbers in case I got lost or in the most likely case of losing my room key. Within 10mins he gave me a very indepth run through of places to see and eat. As I was only staying for 2 nights and on my own, he highlighted places that I could go on my own. I was very impressed by his attentiveness.
Breakfast was also included being a very typical dutch spread: bread, cheese, dairy and fruit for me this was perfect!
The room itself was the highlight, I was situated on the ground floor and had the perfect view of the riviera. Very stylish modern layout but with an 18th century feel to it. The heating was perfect as it was smack bang in the middle of Christmas and temperatures tend to drop below 1ºC. As this was the raining season, reception offer umbrellas you can borrow at no charge.
The bathroom has a plug that you can use for your electrical needs as long as you have an international adapter if you're not a local.
Cupboards were fully stocked with extra blankets, pillows, kettle and tea facilities (no mini bar) also for security they have a lockable safe for storing personal items.
The only downside to my stay was being on the ground floor (the cheapest out of all the suites) is that you can hear everything. For a light sleeper this could get very frustrating, as you can hear people walking home from a bar at 3am or in-house guests walking in/out in the hallway. But other than that, i really enjoyed my stay here and I definitely recommend to all who don't mind life's little luxuries.

Room Tip: Recommend booking a suite on the top floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Well informed and attentive staff. Clean rooms with adequate facilities. Of note is that you get a code from front desk for the wireless internet which also works in your room, is reasonably fast aswell. Excellent shower, rainforest. Of warning is that not alot of privacy for toilet in room. Bed is very soft, not great if you have back issues. Several power points, including an English fitting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Five minutes walk from the station and you are canal-side, looking up at the 18th century front of what is a much older house behind. Inside is a surprise: the breakfast area is light and spacious (the breakfasts are extraordinary value) and the rooms are modern: black floors, modern furniture, no unnecessary frills. Everything has been carefully thought through and works perfectly. We were on the top floor in a courtyard room (you can't actually see the courtyard, we were too high) and there was absolute quiet despite being in the city centre.
The owners were friendly and helpful - they booked Rijksmuseum tickets for us - and someone was always available despite it being a very small hotel.
The position could not have suited us better: 5 minutes south and you're in Chinatown and the red light district; 5 minutes west and you are on Damrak, 5 minutes north and you are crossing the river Ij on the free ferry.

Room Tip: Stairs are steep so ask for the ground floor is that would be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

A wonderful, smaller hotel near the Central Station. It's very easy to walk, take the tram, train, ferry… The owners are lovely and very helpful with advice and such. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, quiet and fun. They have great taste!
Not for those who may have a hard time up steep stairs though. Ask for a bottom floor room.
To ge settled in town, take a later afternoon canal ride. It's slow then. You can get a quick feel for the city and what you want to return to.
Amsterdam is a lovely, friendly city but watch out for the bikes. They own the road!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the top/front- beautiful and quiet, steep stairs and a bottom room/front- beautiful but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel is situated about a 5 minute walk from the station and is an excellent location for all the major landmarks/areas. Room was basic but clean tidy and had a great jacuzzi bath. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. Breakfast was a basic continental but was fresh and tasted wonderful (you can also choose from scrambled eggs, pancakes or fresh fruit). I would highly recommend staying here without hesitation and we will be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here 21-24 March 2014 and our stay was brilliant. 600m from main station and 5 mins walk and you are in the middle of everything. Wonderful view over a canal. Breakfast was lovely and owners very happy to help with booking tickets and giving invaluable tourist advice. Definitely recommend to everyone we know.

Room Tip: Go for a canal facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.