We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

A wonderful, smaller hotel near the Central Station. It's very easy to walk, take the tram, train, ferry… The owners are lovely and very helpful with advice and such. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, quiet and fun. They have great taste!
Not for those who may have a hard time up steep stairs though. Ask for a bottom floor room.
To ge settled in town, take a later afternoon canal ride. It's slow then. You can get a quick feel for the city and what you want to return to.
Amsterdam is a lovely, friendly city but watch out for the bikes. They own the road!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the top/front- beautiful and quiet, steep stairs and a bottom room/front- beautiful but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    461
    70
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
394
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel is situated about a 5 minute walk from the station and is an excellent location for all the major landmarks/areas. Room was basic but clean tidy and had a great jacuzzi bath. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. Breakfast was a basic continental but was fresh and tasted wonderful (you can also choose from scrambled eggs, pancakes or fresh fruit). I would highly recommend staying here without hesitation and we will be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here 21-24 March 2014 and our stay was brilliant. 600m from main station and 5 mins walk and you are in the middle of everything. Wonderful view over a canal. Breakfast was lovely and owners very happy to help with booking tickets and giving invaluable tourist advice. Definitely recommend to everyone we know.

Room Tip: Go for a canal facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Interesting hotel with history. Room unusually furnished, as were the public areas. We had a 'Canal" room. good view, spotless, Barber's chair ??! and Iron ladder up the wall to a little perch ??!!. People very helpful and friendly, breakfast good. Very convenient location. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great location, rooms, service, breakfast, everything... If there is a room available, book it! And be sure to follow their recommendations for restaurants! We really enjoyed our stay here and we'll stay again! No complaints from us. The breakfast is really good and well worth the price!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed some few days in mars 2014. The best concept of a hotel we ever experienced. Service was with kindness and attention. Smart advices about events and restaurants. Thank you guys. We'll be back - soon.

Evelina & Jan

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Loved it here fabulous host, rooms were lovely & clean, breakfast was good, very steep stairs excellent cardio workout! we stayed here with another couple we found the location was great near station & all the sights of Amsterdam, would I stay again yes 100%! Staff couldn't have any more helpful than they were!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list