We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wonder Mauro is number 1!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast only €5,00
Ranked #3 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“No wonder Mauro is number 1!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Mauro absolutely deserves number one place on a Trip Advisor. Located just 10 minutes walk from Central Station and about 5 minutes away from hustle n bustle of Amsterdam's main attractions. That's just the right distance for walking, yet provides a quieter space away from the loud bars and busier areas. Perfect location. You do hear a little street noise during the night, but that is surely to be expected from a city centre hotel.
We arrived around 11 on Monday and were able to get straight into our room. Marcel checked us in and showed us to our canal view room. Marcel, Berry and Abbey were about during the day to assist and were chatty but not intrusive at all. There is a mobile phone to contact them during the night if you need their help (they live on the upper floor)
In the room we were welcomed with complimentary snacks and drink in the fridge, tea/coffee facilities, TV/DVD player (DVDs available to borrow from downstairs). Room like rest of hotel, in that it is fun, quirky and functional. Bath and shower are amazing. Lovely to be abroad and have large living space with bath and shower. Bed extremely comfortable!
Honesty bar downstairs is excellent, as is use of iMac and iPad if needed. Wifi is provided free of charge.
Breakfast is lovely with large range of food and drink. Berry even offered extras (pancakes, eggs, fruit) All delicious! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    101
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
524
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I'm writing this review as I relax in my hotel room at Mauro Mansion feeling a little sad at the prospect of going home tomorrow morning. Both myself and my partner wish we could stay a little longer!

Hotel is in a great location! We checked in yesterday a little before 11am and our room was ready Marcel greeted us, was very nice and asked if we had any questions. He then showed us to our room on the second floor and left us to get our selves sorted. Wow the room is amazing we got room 32 a canal room, such a great view. The room itself is full of character with red painted ceiling beams and rubber floor! The bed is so so comfortable, there is a large iPod docking station, TV and DVD player, table and chairs at the window were you can take in the view of the canal. There is also a desk, a cupboard with tea and coffee facilities and a quirky cage in front of a zebra painted on the wall to hang your clothes! There is also a fridge with complimentary juice, Pepsi, small bottles of Prosecco and a snack.

The bathroom is really nice with a large sink, huge bath and a great shower over the bath water is really hot and you can take long relaxing baths! Also provided are little toiletries that get replenished and they really are nice and smell great! Good quality towels and linen are provided.

The rest of the hotel is nice too on the ground floor there is a small court yard and breakfast/sitting area and an honesty bar where you can help yourselves to drinks and snack and pay later, there are also DVDs and books to borrow as well as iMac and iPod the hotel provides Wifi! Available are free teas and coffees and breakfast is lovely with selections of cereals, bread/toast, yogurts, meats and cheeses etc all very nice and this morning we were offered fruit, eggs or pancakes too I chose the pancakes and they were absolutely gorgeous!

Marcel, Berry and Abbey are all great hosts chatty but not intruding and on hand if you have any questions.

We have really had a great time here the hotel is great and also spotlessly clean and it is also generally quiet you hear nothing from the other rooms the only thing you do hear from time to time is noise from the road but this is a city centre hotel so I suppose this is to be expected! I highly recommend this hotel and we will both hopefully return!

Room Tip: We had room 32 which was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Location: 5 minutes walk from central station.
10 minutes walk to the dam area .
Small hotel with home atmosphere .
Big and clean room. Big bath .
Free welcome mini bar.
Breakfast cost 5 euros..really worth it.
I suggest to take the canal room .
Definitely will come back

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, especially if travelling by train as it is just a few minutes walk from the station. Just make sure when leaving the station, go left as you come out of the main entrance on Stationsplein, walk to the end of the station and cross the road directly opposite Geldersekade so you don't get caught in the crowds on Prins Hendrick Kade. We made this mistake on arrival but not on the way home!
All the main sights are within walking distance. The canal the hotel is on is relatively quiet so we didn't find noise a problem. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the canal, and we did enjoy the view.
The room was good - the decor is quite dramatic with rubber floors so might not be to everyone's taste, but it fits with the character and more recent history of the hotel. Bed was very comfortable. Only things I would suggest adding would be a mirror in the bedroom as well as the bathroom, a suitcase stand, and slightly comfier chairs to sit in, but I know other rooms do have this.
Bathroom was good - very hot water all the time, shower pressure fine and a nice bath to relax in after a long day pounding the streets.
Breakfast was also good - they explain the emphasis is on quality not quantity, but there is more than enough. Cereal, yoghurts, meat, cheese, fruit, lovely warm fresh bread, plus a different special dish such as smoked salmon or mini pancakes each day that is brought to your table.
A few reviewers have commented on the quiet nature of the hosts. They are quiet but their hospitality is excellent and they are very helpful. We found their approach very refreshing - we like being left in peace and quiet to enjoy breakfast. They express their interest in the well being of their guests by thoughtful touches like a free mini bar in the room containing Pepsi, orange juice, beer and even two mini bottles of prosecco which we enjoyed. The mini bar isn't refilled during the stay which is fair enough, but you can buy more reasonably priced supplies downstairs. We were very surprised and delighted by the full size bottle of fizz and traditional cakes that were left in the room on New Years Eve. As it was raining we decided to stay in, enjoy a drink and watch the fireworks from our window. The hosts' restaurant recommendation of the Eethaus van Beeren was very good and we went there twice.
The stairs are narrow but we were helped with our bags. If we returned to Amsterdam I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Canal view is nice to have and we didn't find noise at the front a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have just returned for a long weekend in Amsterdam and once again TA isn't wrong when it comes to Mauro Mansion.

We were impressed from our initial email questions to the hotel as the responses came back very quickly, to the instruction on how to find the hotel on arrival. As others have said the location is ideal, 5 minutes walk from Centraal Station it's the perfect base to explore Amsterdam.

Berry and Marcel have created a brilliant quirky boutique hotel that provides a nod to the buildings "interesting" past in a fun way. The owners are there every day in the background, but if you need anything they are there to help with everything from advice to booking tickets and restaurants - all you have to do is ask.

The room we had (no 21) overlooks the canal, was very spacious, comfortable and warm (especially important on a very cold weekend). We both loved the antique barber chair as it's surprisingly comfortable and is another quirky touch. Then room also has a ladder and cage, if you know the building past then you'll understand why, if not just ask!

Beds very comfortable, mini bar to welcome you and a large en-suite bathroom with under floor heating all add the experience.

Breakfast is great, lovely warm fresh breads amongst other options. Coffee is available 24/7 as required downstairs, along with facilities in the room. Adding to the experience is an honesty bar, DVD's, books, lap top and ipad to ensure you have everything you could possibly need. If it rains then of course you can borrow a brolly.

So if your heading to Amsterdam that you really must try the Mauro Mansion, it's number one for a reason and that's down to Berry and Marcel's hard work.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were here for transit and arrived late after 11pm+, but the owner was so helpful and gave clear instruction for checking in without any hassle.

The location is perfect, just a few minutes walk from the Central Station. Our room on the 1st floor overviewing the canal with good view.

A very charming stylish comfy hotel with character, nice breakfast and generous mini bar.

Room Tip: 1st floor with canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Very clean & excellent location if travelling by train. Room 34, a little claustrophobic ( only skylight window) & dim. Killer stairs- no assistance when checking out. Ordinary breakfast & indifferent owners. A well located & appointed small hotel but not special.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,788 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.