We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews are right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Full breakfast only €5,00
Ranked #3 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The reviews are right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have just returned for a long weekend in Amsterdam and once again TA isn't wrong when it comes to Mauro Mansion.

We were impressed from our initial email questions to the hotel as the responses came back very quickly, to the instruction on how to find the hotel on arrival. As others have said the location is ideal, 5 minutes walk from Centraal Station it's the perfect base to explore Amsterdam.

Berry and Marcel have created a brilliant quirky boutique hotel that provides a nod to the buildings "interesting" past in a fun way. The owners are there every day in the background, but if you need anything they are there to help with everything from advice to booking tickets and restaurants - all you have to do is ask.

The room we had (no 21) overlooks the canal, was very spacious, comfortable and warm (especially important on a very cold weekend). We both loved the antique barber chair as it's surprisingly comfortable and is another quirky touch. Then room also has a ladder and cage, if you know the building past then you'll understand why, if not just ask!

Beds very comfortable, mini bar to welcome you and a large en-suite bathroom with under floor heating all add the experience.

Breakfast is great, lovely warm fresh breads amongst other options. Coffee is available 24/7 as required downstairs, along with facilities in the room. Adding to the experience is an honesty bar, DVD's, books, lap top and ipad to ensure you have everything you could possibly need. If it rains then of course you can borrow a brolly.

So if your heading to Amsterdam that you really must try the Mauro Mansion, it's number one for a reason and that's down to Berry and Marcel's hard work.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    82
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
453
35
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were here for transit and arrived late after 11pm+, but the owner was so helpful and gave clear instruction for checking in without any hassle.

The location is perfect, just a few minutes walk from the Central Station. Our room on the 1st floor overviewing the canal with good view.

A very charming stylish comfy hotel with character, nice breakfast and generous mini bar.

Room Tip: 1st floor with canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Very clean & excellent location if travelling by train. Room 34, a little claustrophobic ( only skylight window) & dim. Killer stairs- no assistance when checking out. Ordinary breakfast & indifferent owners. A well located & appointed small hotel but not special.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here for a few days in half term. The owners were charming before we arrived booking us into restaurants etc. We loved the quirky décor in our room which was well supplied with drinks, biscuits and everything you could wish for - we were sharing with our son and all the bottles had been multiplied by 3 which is not always the case.

Room Tip: If you can't do the steep stairs there are rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I almost do not want to write a review of Mauro Mansion in the event that it is a "fatal embrace" resulting in more interest and lower availability in the future. Mauro Mansion is quite simply the best hotel this frequent traveler has ever stayed in. Perfect location, incredible hospitality, unfairly low price and the quaintness that you want in a hotel. I could write for days about the many terrific benefits of staying at Mauro Mansion, but would still not be able to do it justice. Quite simply put -- if you are interested in staying at a great hotel in Amsterdam, you must stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Easy to walk to from the train.
Informative and v helpful owners, gave us great tips on excursions.
Best breakfast ever.
Honesty bar was fab.
Borrowing their maps & guidebooks was great.
I didn't like the room but only because I hated the idea of what went on with that bloomin cage. The bed was comfortable and everything was spotless.
Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed 5 nights in room 33, which had the barber chair. MM is only a 5 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal. Barry checked me in very quickly and helped carry my luggage up the steep and winding staircase. My room was spacious. VERY comfortable bed. The complimentary minibar and Rituals toiletries were a nice touch, as were the chocolates on the pillows. I found the room lighting inadequate for reading at night. The heater was working but you only felt warm sitting next to it. Quiet surroundings, and I slept well. Breakfast was served buffet style in the kitchen area on the ground floor, with a spread of cheeses, cold cuts, spreads and juices. You help yourself from the table and fridge. Would have liked softer bread as those available were pretty hard to chew on. Laundry is FOC, but I had to request them to dry my clothes again as they came back damp. Both Barry and Marcel were helpful when approached, but otherwise left you alone.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.