We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
€5,00 full breakfast
Ranked #3 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent location and room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed 5 nights in room 33, which had the barber chair. MM is only a 5 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal. Barry checked me in very quickly and helped carry my luggage up the steep and winding staircase. My room was spacious. VERY comfortable bed. The complimentary minibar and Rituals toiletries were a nice touch, as were the chocolates on the pillows. I found the room lighting inadequate for reading at night. The heater was working but you only felt warm sitting next to it. Quiet surroundings, and I slept well. Breakfast was served buffet style in the kitchen area on the ground floor, with a spread of cheeses, cold cuts, spreads and juices. You help yourself from the table and fridge. Would have liked softer bread as those available were pretty hard to chew on. Laundry is FOC, but I had to request them to dry my clothes again as they came back damp. Both Barry and Marcel were helpful when approached, but otherwise left you alone.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    81
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
445
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

After searching TA for a place to stay for a short break in Amsterdam, there was really no question of where to stay. After walking the short distance form Centraal Station we were greeted by Abbey who swiftly checked us in and carried our bag to the second floor up the steep and winding staircase. Once in the room we were pleasantly surprised with the size of the room and its decor. The minibar was stocked and we were instructed to help ourselves. After a look at the map that Abbey had given us we headed out.

After an excellent nights sleep we went down for breakfast and we were shown around the buffet breakfast and invited to help ourselves. This consisted of fresh warm bread, a selection of meats and cheeses, juice and fresh ground coffee, yogurt and fresh fruit.

The location of this hotel couldn't be better, there is a supermarket within easy reach and the main tram lines all converge at the station. If your into it, there are numerous "coffee shops" and the red light district, although close, doesn't detract from this hotels position.

There is a reason this hotel is number one!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper I would recommend a room towards the back as street noise can be intrusiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nts @ Mauro Mansion. Easy walk from Central station. Greeted with warmth and even had
Our (large) bags carried up the narrow staircase to our room. No elevator but a true old world Amsterdam experience. The Free welcome mini bar was more than enough and a great surprise. Everything you want of Amsterdam is outside their doors. The canal room was well appointed and as promised still retained touches of the hotels shady past. (Which was a great laugh) the boys couldn't have done more. Including doing a free load of washing for us. We offered to pay. They just smiled. 2 perfect nights...one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in. Definetly recommend for a short stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Choose a canal room.it's what Amsterdam is all about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Cool , comfortable and friendly.. A great way to stay in Amsterdam. Very centrally located but quiet. Lovely touches with honesty bar, breakfast treats, personal recommendations etc. would highly recommend for a short break destination

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and found it to be a fantastic little hotel. What a find! I had one of the ground-floor rooms (which was ideal as I was traveling with a huge amount of luggage on my way back to Africa). I didn't notice any extra noise at all. The room was beautifully done--slightly quirky, and the complete opposite of the impersonal corporate style hotels I usually end up in for work trips. Berry and Marcel were very helpful, even arranging a special large taxi to handle my oversized luggage when I went to the airport. Breakfast was excellent and the welcome minibar is a generous touch. The location is great--just a few minutes walk from Central Station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Wonderful boutique hotel within very easy walking distance of Central Station. Each room individual and special (and ours had excellent reading lights, unlike a report listed earlier) - with great bathroom, free minibar and comfortable furnishings. Berry and Marcel were super-helpful and really made our stay special. The breakfasts were lovely, with a new and special thing each day. Excellent value wines and snacks available 24 h/day, and DVD and CDs to choose for free from the library in the dining room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel is advertised perfectly, but still exceeded our expectations. Our room was quirky, comfortable and quiet. We appreciated the alarm provided to listen to our iPod. The breakfast was great, I have food allergies and was able to find enough to eat (which isn't always possible). The fresh juices are delicious, a fine assortment of whole fruits and the eggs were fluffy. The location was perfect for our arrival and for exploring Amsterdam.

This was our first time in Amsterdam and the instructions and directions for arrival were clear and concise, thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.