We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save Saved
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Check availability here
Ranked #4 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Incredible place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here last week for a couple of days with my girlfriend. WE picked this place because of the reviews from trip advisor and wanted somewhere close to the railway station and very central. For these reasons alone we would have struggled to find somewhere better but it gets so much better that just its location. It's set on a quiet street within walking distance off all major attractions and it's canal out front looks great.
Sadly when we were in Amsterdam it hardly stopped raining and we had the misfortune of sharing the city with thousands of Celtic football fans who were there to use the city for its bars around the red light area and make a lot of the locals feel uncomfortable. Saw some pretty horrible sites involving the fans and reminded me just what so many british people who come to visit Amsterdam can be like.
Trying to forget that we got to see what we aimed for and loved the town and its unique way it's laid out with canals and all its old building. There is so much history around the place that I'd advise everyone interested in this kind of thing to search the net for a background to Amsterdam and it's places to visit.
Back to the Mauro Mansion, we loved it. On it's website it describes itself as quirky which was what we were looking for. We travel a lot and get bored with the usual hotel room laid out in almost the same way every time.Our room was one of the courtyard rooms in the attic and it was spotless. Everything was just how you hoped a hotel room would be. The bed was fantastic, the place was very clean and it's design was so refreshing from so many places we've been to. The bathroom has lovely under tile heating, a huge jet bath, a separate shower that was right up there with some of the best you can get.
Yet it was the little things that Berry & Marcel offer that made us feel so welcome. They offer you a mini fridge in your room that is free and very much appreciated, they offered us help when we arrived with any info about Amsterdam, they have a collection of dvds downstairs that you can borrow if you have the time to watch anything, they have snacks and drinks downstairs available and call it an honesty bar that if you feel the need to use anything just let them know and settle up at the end of your stay... what an amazing idea although between us we only had a bottle of beer it was perfect if you forget anything and stay in your room more than we did.
I also have to add we had a fair bit of luggage as we were travelling from England and then onto Krakow for a little tour and I notice a few people on here saying the steps were a bit steep, well I forgot to thank the guys for managing to get those bags upstairs for us.
So finally highly recommended, somewhere we would definitely stay again and certainly amongst the best places we've stayed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    469
    73
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
402
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

A stone's throw from Central station means you can tuck yourself practically as soon as you land in Amsterdam. Mauro is a historical building on the canals, and beautifully decorated with a touch of modernity. Everything has been lovingly thought out by the owners, including chocolates on the bed, free snacks and drinks in the mini fridge, mosquito net to keep the mozzies out of the bed, various city guides to borrow, luxurious shower gels, the list could go on and on. We loved how every morning's breakfast hot dish was different, and we could pick and chose from a small but good selection of cheeses and meats. There is definitely a reason why Mauro is #1 on Tripadvisor!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and worried about noise, but never heard a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at Mauro Mansion in October 2013 for three nights. Location can not be beat. Very short walk from the Central Train station and we had lots of heavy luggage but it was an easy walk. Just WATCH OUT for the bikers when you get off the train! Once you are at the mansion you are walking distance from lots of great sights. We walked to Red Light district (take the evening info tour, it was great to learn about this "interesting" area), Dam Square, and even to the Anne Frank House. If you want to take a Tram around town it is easy to take from the central train station. The mansion is great, wonderful rooms (we stayed in room 22 with canal view), great breakfast. The owners are great, helpful with maps and directions, got tickets for a museum for us and even called to help us find a dinner reservation on a Friday night! All I can say is GO!

Room Tip: Choose a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I enjoyed six nights at Mauro Mansion last week, and can thoroughly recommend it as a great place to stay in Amsterdam. Cozy, quirky, and yet, a bit luxurious (there was a jacuzzi in the tub of my room), the owners are also friendly and willing to provide tips for visitors regarding restaurants and other attractions. It's no more than 3-5 minutes from Centraal Station, depending on traffic, and this in itself makes it so easy to take a tram anywhere in Amsterdam you might desire. I'll return to Mauro next time I visit A'dam!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are very quiet, if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Enjoyed our long weekend stay which was greatly contributed to by the service we received from local staff. On checking in we were given a free upgrade courtesy of my Gold Membership and tickets for drinks at the bar. Reception, dining room and bar staff were friendly and willing to offer advice and I was particularly grateful to the young...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Excellent location, if you are looking for a nice atmosphere in a small boutique hotel over a beautiful canal this is it. Nice surprise the welcome drinks as well as the small surprise every morning at the breakfast. Each room has his own style. We stay in a very romantic red room with nice in canal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Can't say anything bad. Close to the station so trains/trams/metro can get you anywhere in the city that you can't explore on foot. It's close to the hustle & bustle but on a quiet street overlooking a canal. Room was big by Amsterdam standards, lots of quirky stuff like a ladder & barber's chair. We were in town for the marathon so it was great to have a fridge (stocked with some complimentary beer, wine) to put our food & drinks. Breakfast area was nice and airy with freshly baked bread, the best cheese & cured meats. We had to leave early on race day but our hosts kindly left bread and other good stuff for us.
Excellent experience overall.

Room Tip: Canal view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.