We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mauro Mansion is worthy of all the good reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mauro Mansion is worthy of all the good reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights over my birthday in August, I had read many reviews so was really excited to stay here and we weren't disappointed! First of all the location is amazing, got off the train and found it right away, without even glancing at a map so no stress there. The room we had was fabulous, a first floor canal view room, it really was the best room we had stayed in. All the amenities were great, comfy bed, lovely bathroom, storage etc. There was also a mini fridge with complimentary refreshments which was a lovely touch and a vintage barbers chair which you could swing round and relax on while enjoying the beautiful view. Breakfast (which is included in the price) was lovely, fresh bread, juice, cereal, yogurt, unlimited coffee etc etc and something different brought over to your table each morning. The hotel used to be an S n M hotel and you can see this as they have kept in many of the previous hotels features including a cage up high in our room! all these little things make Mauro Mansion very cool and quirky. The owners were very nice and helpful too, we loved this hotel and hopefully will be lucky enough to visit again!

Room Tip: Go for a canal room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    82
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
465
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I counted myself lucky to get a room in this very small hotel as most of the better hotels in town were fully booked months in advance for a conference and was encouraged when I saw the rating in Trip Advisor. The owners were excellent hosts and the hotel is exactly what it says it is . Its something different and has much of Amsterdams quirky charm. However torrential rain meant that for a day or two one was confined largely to the hotel and I must admit I missed having a lounge and or bar to chillout in. My room at the top of the hotel was well thought out and cleverly finished tho bigger people or two might find the bed tough to get in and out of as the rafters were either side of the bed with no real bedside table however the room had personality and was spotless and the bathroom excellent.If you do decide to stay here from glancing into a couple of them I strongly recommend the canal view rooms. It was a good location for a first stay in the city though my favorite area became the Jordaan and if I ever returned I might try that area next. I am a little surprised that this ranks as the no 1 choice on TA but then the service is very personal ,practical and caring. Do not be put off by the somewhat spartan entrance hall for this place does have personality

Room Tip: Front rooms are by far the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Mauro Mansion and endorse all the comments made by other reviewers ... room was spacious, quirky, comfortable with a view of the canal. Complimentary drinks were great as were the breakfasts ... after 3 weeks of english breakfasts it was a welcome change, and the little surprises every morning, eg. the strawberries, were a nice touch. The night manager (forgive me for forgetting his name) was excellent with his welcoming attitude and helpful advice. Marcel and Berry were very professional and helpful without being intrusive.
Only downside was the noisy pedestrians staggering past the front at night, but this is the trade off I suppose for the great canal view. The 40 steps up the stairs was a bit of a challenge after walking all day but part of the holiday fitness regime and we had help if we needed it to carry our bags. Not the cheapest place in which we stayed but it presented good value for money and we had no regrets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Chose this hotel as it was number 1 on tripadvisor and weren't disappointed. The location, decor, attention to detail etc is fantastic but what makes this hotel a cut above is the brilliant service. The owners couldn't do enough to help, recommending places to go and eat, helping with travel plans etc. A must go to hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel with many little touches that made it extra special. The location is great. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was well-appointed. They have a welcome package in the frig and wonderful breakfasts every morning with a different little surprise every day (little pancakes with strawberries, fresh cut pineapple, fruit and yogurt).

The stairs are steep and circular, but Marcel and Berry helped with the luggage on arrival and departure

They had helpful suggestions regarding dining and had no trouble accommodating our request for decaf coffee

We highly recommend Mauro Mansion. It's a real gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and we absolutely loved the hotel. Mauro Mansion is as good as all the previous reviews are saying if not better. Great location, friendly staff and excellent service. Keep up the good work Berry and Marcel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Easy to find near Central train station. Just stayed 3 nights at this very comfortable, interesting, quirky hotel.
Stayed in room 22, first floor canal view. Exceptionally comfortable bed, spotlessly clean throughout but would have liked a warmer surface underfoot and a couple of drawers wouldn't go amiss.
Quality breakfast, complimentary room bar, free WiFi and coffee non-stop.
Would definitely stay again.
Hosts Berry and Marcel very helpful when approached but not forthcoming otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.