We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to our expectations and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
€5,00 full breakfast
Ranked #3 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lived up to our expectations and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Chose this hotel as it was number 1 on tripadvisor and weren't disappointed. The location, decor, attention to detail etc is fantastic but what makes this hotel a cut above is the brilliant service. The owners couldn't do enough to help, recommending places to go and eat, helping with travel plans etc. A must go to hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    81
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
446
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel with many little touches that made it extra special. The location is great. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was well-appointed. They have a welcome package in the frig and wonderful breakfasts every morning with a different little surprise every day (little pancakes with strawberries, fresh cut pineapple, fruit and yogurt).

The stairs are steep and circular, but Marcel and Berry helped with the luggage on arrival and departure

They had helpful suggestions regarding dining and had no trouble accommodating our request for decaf coffee

We highly recommend Mauro Mansion. It's a real gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and we absolutely loved the hotel. Mauro Mansion is as good as all the previous reviews are saying if not better. Great location, friendly staff and excellent service. Keep up the good work Berry and Marcel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Easy to find near Central train station. Just stayed 3 nights at this very comfortable, interesting, quirky hotel.
Stayed in room 22, first floor canal view. Exceptionally comfortable bed, spotlessly clean throughout but would have liked a warmer surface underfoot and a couple of drawers wouldn't go amiss.
Quality breakfast, complimentary room bar, free WiFi and coffee non-stop.
Would definitely stay again.
Hosts Berry and Marcel very helpful when approached but not forthcoming otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for 4 x nights... The rooms are so incredible and really add to your experience in my opinion. The breakfast is great, in terms of quality you really cant fault the food. I was suprised to be honest, because it wasn't greatly expensive, yet was truly beautiful inside. It is nice and quiet too and our room has an INCREDIBLE view over the canal. Was certainly pleased with Mauro's.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Recently stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband and I had an amazing time exploring the sights of Amsterdam, and this certainly was a great hotel to do it from. The hosts, Barry and Mauro are very accommodating. Walking distance to Central Station, great shops, restaurants and sights you can only experience in Amsterdam. Defiantly recommended for couples

Room Tip: Make sure to hire bikes to ride around the city. Great bike rental next to Central railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place is very pleasant. The price is honest and the rooms are quite and extremely comfortable. You feel like your part of a little home and not just a costumer. Overall i would recommend it to anyone but especially for couples.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.