We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mauro mansion stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“mauro mansion stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

great little hotel and ideal location within 5 minutes walk of central station, the hotel has a fun quirky feel about it, staff are on hand for any advice on trips etc. we booked a canal cruise and got a good discount on it so worth checking hotel first for any trips you plan to take we were in the zebra room with nice views of canal our friends were in the barbers chair room which was a little bigger and it also had canal view it's all been said before but yes the hotel is in a great location/very clean/fun rooms - but still quiet enough for a good nights sleep well worth paying that little bit extra for -someone has given some thought to what travelers are looking for on a short visit to Amsterdam

Room Tip: we stayed in canal view rooms which are worth paying a bit extra for barber chair room seems bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    82
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
465
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pitea, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Cool looking place, spiral stairs and we had a nice view of the canal! It is very close to the train station which is a big plus! Owners are nice, but we did not have much contact really and when we did they didn't really ask us anything...nothing about how our day had been and so on...

The room was nice, bed very comfy but pillows awful, just too high!! Bathroom was also nice exept the lighting!! Only on one side, so very hard when girls want to put makeup on!
Breakfast was ok. Nice touch that you could borrow movies and watch in your room.
Would we go back? Probably not..but then again we didn't really like Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

What can I say that has not been said. We were there last week and enjoyed the location, hospitality and the conveniences. After a visit to a coffee shop my wife could barely make it to the 3rd floor from laughing so hard as we turned the corned on the stairs AGAIN. The winding just keeps on going, but it adds to the charm and takes nothing away. Make sure you have them print your attraction tickets in advance, it reduces standing in lines, plus it is added to your room which is very convenient.

We had some friends that stayed at the Double Tree which has a great roof top bar at sunset, so we walked over there for cocktails one night and it was a very quiet reprieve, from the noise of Amsterdam.

Nice job guys. I would recommend to anybody!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Based on prior trip advisor reviews, we choose to stay at Mauro Mansion. From the initial booking Marcel and Berry where excellent hosts. We arrived early and were welcomed by Marcel. He provided a much needed coffee and the opportunity to freshen up. Our room was on the first floor facing the canal. Good view. Only issue is it can be a little noisy. Room was spacious and very well serviced. Very comfortable memory foam bed. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was basic but of a high quality. Very well located. Short walk from main train station. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and did not want to leave.
The location was fantastic; a short walk from the station, right on a canal, close to great restaurants and the buzz of the red light district.
We stayed on the top floor and our room was quiet, comfortable and stylish. We had a cage in our room, which we thought was interesting!
A highlight for me was the breakfast every morning. I loved the fresh bread, cold meats, cheeses... Plus, we were treated to some poffertjes one morning... Scrambled eggs the next.
I hope we return to Amsterdam so I can stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Loved every minute if staying here! Fairly easy to find... Excellent location. Rooms were so unique and quaint... Attention to details in the room and in the common areas. Really great place and a definite recommend. Would stay here again...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife i stayed at Mauro Mansion 1st to 5th August 13 and what a fantastic hotel with lots of imaginative design touches which makes it stand out from the rest of the hotels.
All the great things have been said by other reviewers that there is really not a lot more to add.
Marcel and Berry were very welcoming and two of the nicest people you will ever meet who will do all they can for you to enjoy your stay there.
We stayed in room 21overlooking the canal, the room with the the barbers chair, which was very quirky and in keeping with the hotel design.
Room were large and had air con which was required as we arrived from Santorini to an unusual hot spell in Amsterdam, in fact the following day it was the hottest day of the year at a reported 35oC, the room also has a well designed, good size bathroom.
Beds were very comfortable and one of the best sleeps we have ever had in a hotel bed.
Rooms also have a fridge with some welcome drinks.
Breakfast was plentiful with good healthy options.
A special thanks to Marcel and Berry for contacting me as i left my mp3 player
An email from them was in my inbox when i arrived home that i had left it in the room which they have said they will send on to me.
If i return to Amsterdam i will only stay at MAURO MANSION and certainly recommend it to my relatives and friends should they want to visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Stay and pay that little extra for a canal view and air con above ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.