We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mauro Mansion
Save Saved
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Check availability here
Ranked #4 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The Best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Adding to all the other fabulous reviews, we stayed for our 20th wedding anniversary and were provided with a free room upgrade, a bottle of champagne, strawberries and a card wishing us a happy anniversary from Marcel and Berry. Touches like this make all the difference. Mauro Mansion is in a league of it's own, from the very professional way it is run by Marcel and Berry, the beautiful decor, the exceptional cleanliness, and it's prime location. On top of that there is the tasty breakfasts of cereal, juice, meat, cheese and little extras such as pancakes with strawberries and pineapple bowls. The very thoughtful honesty bar is brilliant for water, alcohol and snacks, take what you need and pay at the end of your stay. Plenty of DVDs, CDs and books to borrow if needed too. The location is perfect, 5 minutes walk from Centraal Station, metro and tram stops. The train from Shiphol took about 20 minutes and cost less than €9. Places to visit - The Red Light District, less than 5 minutes away was very busy with lots of bars (amongst other things!), Dam Square was very touristy and expensive but nice to see. We found Nieuwmarkt which was more or less at the bottom of the street much nicer, plenty of bars, restaurants and coffee shops which were reasonably priced. Good place to watch the world go by. Rembrantpark was also another favourite. The canal cruise is a lovely way to see the city and the Heneken Experience was enjoyable and interesting. All in all we will definitely be returning to Amsterdam and in particular to Mauro Mansion.

Room Tip: Room 31 has air conditioning which was a god send when we were there. It is also large with a beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    468
    73
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
401
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I can't think of much to say as everybody else did! Have stayed in bigger rooms but who cares. Thank you to Berry, Marcel and Abbey for making our stay so wonderful. Loved everything from the wonderful yummy breakfasts - fresh bread, cheeses, meats, cereals, tea, coffee, etc (plus surprises every day - scrambled eggs one day, fruit compote with yoghurt, pancakes another day), comfy beds, videos to borrow, kettle and tea/coffee facilities in our room and in main area, honour bar with very reasonable prices, generous welcome drinks, etc. very friendly and helpful. We took trip to Edam, Volendam and Markin after we were give all the info from them. Great day. Could not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Can I give six stars? Eight? My wife and I spent three nights at Mauro Mansion and we were delighted every step of the way, including before we even arrived. Communication with Berry and Marcel was prompt and personal, and I was made to feel welcomed months in advance.

We arrived in the mid-morning, before our room was ready. Berry took our luggage and suggested we take a canal boat tour to take up the time. We did that, and when we returned, our luggage was already in the room (#32, with a canal view). And what a room! Airy and spacious, with the typical enormous Dutch window, amusing and eclectic decorations, and a fridge stocked with "welcome" refreshments. The bed was incredibly comfortable, with a memory foam mattress, there was lots of storage and many electrical outlets. The bathroom was large and well-laid-out, with plenty of space for toiletries. Large, fluffy, (and not white!) towels were provided. Oh, and there was air conditioning - a split-ductless unit similar to what we have at home. This was welcome in the evening as we like the room cooler. At night the room was quiet with no street noise. (It helps that vehicle traffic is now blocked on their street at night.)

Berry, Marcel, and Abbey, another staffer, were very helpful with answers to our questions about the area and suggestions for what to do and see. The lobby is stocked with various travel books, though some of them are old and contain out of date information (corrected by Marcel when I asked about a "tourist tram" line.) Then there's the "honor bar", with a great selection of snacks and beverages at market (not inflated) prices - just let them know what you took. We had a bottle of Vinho Verde that was very good, and only 10 Euros.

Breakfast starts at 8:30 and there's a wide selection of fresh-baked breads, meats, cheeses, yogurt, fruit, juice and more. A high-end coffee maker provides excellent coffee and lattes - one can get coffee around the clock, but milk for the lattes is not available at night.) Each morning Marcel provides a fresh-made extra. One day it was a delicious crepe, the other fresh strawberries with yogurt. My only regret is that we had to leave too early on the last day to get a third breakfast.

You will read in other reviews about the steep and narrow circular staircase. Yes, that's true, and if it's a problem for you then you should probably look elsewhere. There is no elevator/lift. It didn't bother us at all.

If I were to visit Amsterdam in the future, Mauro Mansion would be at the top of my list for places to stay. I can't recommend it highly enough. I do suggest springing for a canal-view room if available.

Room Tip: Canal-side is best, I think. If you can request a room on the second floor (third to Americans), and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Berry and Marcel have thought of everything, providing a comfortable and stylish homebase for exploring Amsterdam. Berry's restaurant suggestions were exactly what we were looking for. He and Marcel were very kind to help carry our bags up and down the characteristically steep stairs. Easy access on foot from Amsterdam Centraal and the tram system there saves time and money. Our friends and we had a really fun time and felt lucky to have found Mauro Mansion, thanks to Tripadvisor.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mauro Mansion for 1 night and found the location to be perfect! 5 minute walk from Centraal Station and a couple streets over from the Red Light District and other major sights. We easily walked everywhere and the owners were very helpful in giving suggestions for restaurants and things to see. Loved their honor bar stocked with any late night snacks you may need for extremely reasonable prices. Breakfast was included and yummy. Our room was definitely unique with steps to a cage and a comfy swing. Since it was old S&M hotel when it was The Black Tulip it has interesting features that make it an even more fun stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecoma, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent three nights at the Mauro Mansion. It is about a 5 minute walk from Centraal station, and right on a canal. The location was excellent, right near many restaurants and bars, and a short walk to the main sights of Amsterdam. The owners were fabulous, giving us helpful tips and recommendations for eating out. The breakfast was great each morning, and there is an honesty system for snacks and drinks. Our room had a canal view, and it was lovely. We could sit at a little table and watch the world go by. The room had everything we needed, including a minibar and a bathroom with bath, and was quite spacious. I would highly recommend staying here when visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and wasn't disappointed. The staff were great and the rooms simplistic and clean. They have do the perfect breakfast, freshly baked bread, cereals awesome coffee (which you can take away!) and a little 'chefs choice'. Much better than the greasy,
cold, over cooked breakfasts you get in most places.
You can use one of their umbrellas or watch a DVD from their selection - it's like being at home. GREAT price too! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.