We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Full breakfast for €7,50
Ranked #2 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Naperville
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Mansion is a great place to stay and close to all the major attractions. The breakfast is unique and outstanding. Our hosts Berry and Marcel were very helpful and catered to all our needs. Being able to purchase wine, soft drinks and snacks was a nice feature. We would highly recomend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Well the location so close to Central Station cannot be overstated enough.Being jetlagged and overwhelmed by all the activity of the city made it all the more appreciated,easy to find location.Once we arrived at the hotel it was to early to check in but they let us drop off our luggage and freshen up and offered us breakfast.We were provided with a map and direction to start our day off in Amsterdam.We did have a canal side room and I very much enjoyed photographing the everyday activities of the Dutch people.The staff at the hotel were very helpful and always accommodating.The breakfasts were just right,array of cheeses and fresh baked breads,also something special each day such as proffertjes and fresh pineapple.I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We chose this place because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and it didn't disappoint. The location is fantastic, literally minutes from the train station and perched alongside a pretty canal. We had a first floor room with big windows overlooking the canal (gorgeous view) and stunning decor with lots of quirky, original touches, including a storage area above the en-suite bathroom that you had to climb a ladder to get to! The fridge was packed with complimentary - yes, free - drinks: we had a glass of prosecco each to start our evening off, looking over the canal. Perfect. As others have commented, hosts Berry and Marcel are super-helpful: they helped us plan a lovely walk around some of the most beautiful streets in Amsterdam and recommended places to eat and drink. Breakfast the next morning was simple but heavenly - a homage to the delights of fresh crusty bread, good cheese and cold cuts, supplemented by freshly made French toast and strong coffee. It's a fantastic B&B-cum-hotel and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuppa_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
146 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

When one finds a place this good, one wants to keep it closely guarded secret. However as I shan't be returning to Amsterdam any time soon that I can foresee, it would be churlish of me not to share the joy of this perfect place to stay.
Berry and Marcel are the understated but super-knowledgeable and helpful hosts that welcome you and look after you ensuring that you stay is problem free.
I was placed in a courtyard room reached by a twisty steep spiral staircase. As long as you can manage stairs you will be fine. Berry insisted on carrying my suitcase to it.
The room was amusingly funky with a deliciously comfortable double bed and a barber chair amongst other interesting pieces of furniture and decorations such as xmas lights and a man's derby hat perched up high (!) . I loved the plus-sized bathroom with the jacuzzi tub and the walk in shower. A big work desk under a super swinging skylight window allowed me to place my computer on it and besides it a fridge filled with complimentary soft drinks, beer and prossecco. It does not get better than that!

Oh yes it does. I haven't mentioned breakfast yet.

The breakfast room is a delightfully bright airy area filled with little tables and folding chairs not unlike one would find in a garden. The breakfast items are fresh (such as the scrumptious freshly baked breads) with cereals,fruits,cold cuts,cheeses and myriads of spreads. Best of all Berry comes by your table with some delicious treat he whipped up that morning. One morning it was sweet french toast, the next a plateful of small plump pancakes.

The Mansion is a five minutes walk from the train station and in the middle of everything one could want. Thanks to Berry I was able to find the best places to dine, to shop and how long it would take to walk there. They are a veritable fount of knowledge and have all the maps,pamphlets and brochures to support any cultural excursion you wish to undertake.
Other guests were there and one could tell were happy to be. I can only describe my stay as very relaxing and organic thanks to the casual but graceful atmosphere of the place.

Amsterdam is full of people who want to see things, have fun experiences, some naughty and seem to be for the most part in a celebratory mood and make no bones about wanting to live and party lustily during their time there. It's a place that's still young at heart but also old and wearily experienced in the ways of the world. A fascinating mix made all the more enjoyable to contemplate when returning at the end of the day to Mauro Mansion.

When I return I would not dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Canadianknowitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place!! Great location, lovely breakfast and neat room!
Lots of nice touches that make this place special.
Owners are wonderful hosts.
A gem! Will certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and colleagues .

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in 6/2011. Very friendly and accommodating hosts. Helped us with trip planning, cabs and reservations to local attractions. Beautiful and well maintained home. We stayed in one of the Canal Rooms with a lovely view. Rooms were impeccably clean and good size. Comfy bed. They have an honesty bar in the lobby/sitting area/breakfast room with great selection of wines, beers and snacks. Great location! About a 10 minute walk from the train station. Around the corner from the red light district but you wouldn't know it. Plenty of nearby bars and restaurants. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed three nights in this small boutique hotel that is about a five minute walk from the train station. Operated and managed by the owners who obviously take much pride in the property. Spotlessly clean. Quirky, good sized rooms with excellent bathrooms and comfortable beds. A help-yourself type breakfast with very various tasty and fresh choices While the property is on the edge of the Red Light district, it is on a very quiet canal and there are no issues about feeling safe. Easy to get to all the attractions from this hotel and a number of good restaurants within easy walking distances. If you have any mobility issues you will have to stay away from the rooms on the upper floors. There is no elevator and people aren't kidding when they say the staircase is narrow and steep. An excellent choice for travellers arriving from the airport via the central train station who are looking for an alternative to the usual sterile chain hotels.

Room Tip: Those people with any mobility issues need to get a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Full_Nelson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,035 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,008 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,767 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing