We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Save Saved
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, Amsterdam 1012 BH, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. The hotel staff were friendly and helpfull at all times. The rooms are well laid out and very clean. The hotel is located very close to central station which makes it easy to first find and easy to get to the local attractions of Amsetrdam. The stairs to the rooms are quite steep so don't book a room on the top floor if you have bad knees.
Happy to recommend this hotel and would definetley stay here again if I revisit Amsterdam.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    65
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
372
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I loved Mauro Mansion. It was clean, updated and the breakfasts were top notch. We were on the third floor but never mind stairs - canal view was good with windows that opened (the mosquitoes surprised us). Easy walking to restaurants, sites, and transportation. Barry was very friendly and helpful with recommendations for dining and directions.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Handy location, nice room (recommend canal view) and exceptional breakfast.  Marcel & Berry have done a great job restyling this 16 century manor into an artistic and cosy retreat. Their attention to detail is second to none. The stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here over Christmas to get away from it all at home in the UK. Amsterdam worked well for that - although they do celebrate Christmas - it was understated and plenty of places were open on 25 December so we could just do 'normal' things.
We've stayed at Mauro once before and liked it so much that it was our first choice for this trip. It was a litttle more expensive at this time of year, but still good value when compared to other options. The location is 'out of the way' but very close to Central Station, so the whole City is within 30 minutes walk, pretty much.
We had a ground floor room at the front of the house this time and it was a little noisy at occasional times through the night, which wasn't ideal. But this is Amsterdam and the Hotel is not far from the Red Light district, so it is to be expected somewhat.
The owners were welcoming and helpful as ever - emailing us pre trip with restaurant recommends and offering to make reservations for us. The atmosphere at Maurois always relaxed and quiet, making it the perfect place to unwind and chill out.
We love Amsterdam and we love Mauro and we'll be back!

Room Tip: try to avoid the lower floors at the front of the huse if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had a terrific 4 night stay at Mauro Mansion. The room was a nice size with a very clean and modern bathroom, including both a bathtub and shower. The room had an extremely comfortable bed with a desk, a tea kettle, and some chairs. Despite being on the first floor with our windows right at the street and the front door right outside our room, somehow the room was always quiet.

The breakfasts were probably the best that we had in our 3 weeks in Europe. The breakfast spread of muslei, yogurt, cheeses, breads, fruit (and more) as well as a small hot dish from the kitchen (each day was something different and delicious) kept us going until late afternoon without even thinking about food. They also had a really nice selection of loose teas and a very fancy coffee maker.

It only took a few minutes to walk to the B&B from Centraal Station. Amsterdam is a very easy city to walk around. We did get a OV-Chipcard pass at the visitor's center next to Centraal Station (we could not figure out how to buy one in the station) that will take you anywhere you need to go. The tram and bus routes are very clear and easy to figure out. Since they are unlimited travel, it is nice to just jump on and off as you like.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Loved this place. Wonderful staff who could not have been more helpful. Nice room. The location was great - we were able to walk there from the train station. Very nice breakfast as well. Will go back. Rick Steves needs to add this place to his book.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My partner booked us three nights in this hotel as a treat for our anniversary, and what a wonderful weekend it was. Berry & Marcel requested us to email with details of our arrival time, which my partner did and mentioned it was our anniversary treat. On arriving at the hotel we were promptly checked in, offered help with our bags up the steep stairs and found a bottle of bubbly in our room, with a sweet note from the owners. It was a real delight - and was another extra little touch that is evident throughout this hotel. The room was clean, spacious and clean, with great bathroom products.
The decor is fab, they leave different treats on the pillow every night (chocolates, waffles, etc) and the breakfast is healthy, delicious and they give different fresh treats from the kitchen every day (fresh fruit salads, breads, pancakes). What we thought was especially nice was the fridge in the room which they state is not a minibar, merely complimentary welcome drinks, with some cans of coke, water, beer and juice. It also meant that we could buy drinks whilst out and cool them in the room's fridge. It makes such a refreshing change to stay in a hotel and not feel like they are out to rip you off constantly. The hotel also has a large choice of dvd's and books, which you can borrow and an honesty bar with sweets, drinks, etc, which was very good value for money (great when you get back after a long day of sightseeing). The staff go the extra mile - they gave us advice on where to eat and were friendly, but not too over the top. We had a fantastic weekend here and would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Mauro Mansion Hotel
Address: Geldersekade 16, Amsterdam 1012 BH, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello. Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. In Mauro Mansion we do not just offer accommodation, we offer a sincere local experience based on your individual needs, a million miles away from big hotel chains. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. So come and book that room, we promise to make your stay unforgettable! Mauro Mansion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.